Thursday, June 8, 2017

Book Review: A Darkness Strange and Lovely by Susan Dennard

A Darkness Strange and Lovely
Something Strange and Deadly #2
Paperback, 432 pages
Published by HarperTeen
Released: June 24th 2014

Blurb:
Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she'll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there's a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there's a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.


Reese's Review:
I could not be happier that A Darkness Strange and Lovely was just as amazing and the first book in this series. Susan Dennard did not disappoint.

Eleanor has suffered so much from book one to where we find her in book two. After what happened in book one where her brothers body was taken over by an evil necromancer Eleanor is crippled and not just emotionally. Now her mother is getting help in the asylum and won’t even see her daughter. The Spirit-Hunters have fled leaving Eleanor alone and grieving a broken heart when Daniel left. With her being alone that means she’s an easy target and the necromancer Marcus is after her. Escaping, Eleanor leaves to find the Spirit-Hunters. On the ship she meets Oliver who was her brothers best-friend agrees to help her on her mission to save herself and her friends against the man who killed her brother.

Eleanor was such an amazingly strong character in book one and I think in A Darkness Strange and Lovely that her strength was tested a lot more. She lost her entire family and her hand and now she’s being hunted. Plus, her friends have all left her and she found out she was the cause of one of her friends’ deaths. She was definitely struggling a lot in this story. I felt a little annoyed at times when she was keeping needless secrets, but I think she was a little skeptical as to whom she should and could trust after constant betrayal.

Daniel wasn’t in the majority of the first half of the book which kind of stunk, but I mean it makes sense that Eleanor and Daniel would both be busy. It stunk that when Daniel showed up he was a bit of a pompous arse who didn’t seem to care of Eleanor anymore. I still liked him though since I understood where he was coming from.

Oliver is a new character in this story and I have mixed feelings about him. I think I like him, but I am not sure quite yet. Oliver is one of the many mysteries in this story and I can’t wait to find out the rest of what all is happening in this amazing universe.


Susan Dennard has come a long way from small-town Georgia. With a masters degree in marine biology, she got to travel the world—six out of seven continents, to be exact (she’ll get to Asia one of these days!)—before she settled down as a full-time novelist and writing instructor.

She is the author of the Something Strange and Deadly series (from HarperTeen) as well as the forthcoming Witchlands Series (Tor, 2015). When not writing, she can be found hiking with her dogs, exploring tidal pools, or earning bruises at the dojo.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...