Thursday, February 11, 2016

Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited
Uninvited #1
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published by HarperTeen
Release Date: January 28th 2014

Blurb:
The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


Reese's Reviews:
Uninvited was not what I expected.

Devy is a privileged prodigy child. She’s always done the right thing, dates the right guy, and has the right friends. Then one day she’s told she has the kill gene and now she’s kicked out of her school, she’s been dumped by her boyfriend and best friends, she’s branded, and almost raped. She has no rights as someone with the kill gene. Then she meets Sean and everything she thought about HTS people changes.

The world of Uninvited is a world where the government after having so many mass shootings, and murders have decided to take action and start testing children at a young age for the “kill-gene.” They want to get in front of the killings by labeling the murderers early on so they can get they “help.” If you couldn’t tell there’s a terrible stigma against all who have the HTS gene and are basically treated worse than lower-class citizens. This kind of pushes people over the edge and as you’ll read in the book the label does more harm than good.

Now we have Devy who I could have cared less about. I felt bad for her, but she was so weak it made me want to shake her. She never wanted to change her circumstances, or look at the bigger picture to see what was really going on and just took everything at face value. I guess after reading Sophie Jordan’s Firelight Trilogy I was expecting a feistier more resilient character and that’s not what I got.

The romance part of this story is lame-sauce. Supposedly Sean and Devy have feelings for each other, but it’s not really made clear how or why as they have no similar interests. They rarely speak, and most of the time Devy’s stuck in her own little world of misery. Plus Sean is a man of few words so there isn’t much communication.

The story was interesting, but it lacked a certain something I like in my books. The action was predictable, and the characters that had the most “screen-time” were the characters that lacked the most depth. All in all, I was disappointed, but intrigued by the story, but will not be reading the second book.


Sophie Jordan took her adolescent daydreaming one step further and penned her first historical romance in the back of her high school Spanish class. This passion led her to pursue a degree in English and History.

A brief stint in law school taught her that case law was not nearly as interesting as literature - teaching English seemed the natural recourse. After several years teaching high school students to love Antigone, Sophie resigned with the birth of her first child and decided it was time to pursue the long-held dream of writing.

In less than three years, her first book, Once Upon A Wedding Night, a 2006 Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Nominee for Best First Historical, hit book shelves. Her second novel, Too Wicked To Tame, released in March 2007 with a bang, landing on the USA Today Bestseller's List.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...