Sunday, September 27, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses
A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Hardcover, 416 pages
Published by Bloomsbury Children's
Release Date: May 5th 2015

Blurb
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.


Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Reese's Reviews:
I have found a new love and it is this book. Seriosuly after reading a lot of books all the time, the next book you read has to have something special for it to be amazing. Sarah J. Maas has already set the bar high in terms of amazing books and when I thought she couldn’t be any more awesome she writes A Court of Thorns and Roses.

I absolutely adore this book and cannot wait for the sequel and all other books that come with this series. If they could come out today I would be so happy. Anyway this book has everything you could ever want. Action, hot faerie men, kick-ass heroines, steaming hot romance, character growth and for all us book lovers out there a fairy tale retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It doesn’t get much better than that.

Feyre is a fantastic heroine. She’s not perfect and kind of cold, which seems to be how I like my female heroines. She has been taking care of her family since they lost their fortune. One day while hunting she kills a giant wolf that happened to also be a faerie. Now she’s being taken from her family and forced to live with Tamlin a high fae. She expects to be treated poorly but at every turn people are more kind than hurtful and she begins to feel a connection with Tamlin and the faerie world. The one thing to ruin the happily ever after is the fact that Tamlin and all other fae are cursed and are losing their powers. When everything Tamlin was hiding from Feyre becomes revealed she knows it’s up to her to save the faery world.

I love Fayre so so so much. Honestly she comes across as rude and emotionless, but she’s not. She feels a lot, but she tries not to feel or express those feelings. I love how much she grows as a character throughout this novel from always doubting herself to becoming a strong independent woman who can stand on her own two feet.

Okay so Tamlin is hot as heck for real, but in the beginning comes off as kind of a butt head. He doesn’t know how to act around people after losing his family and half his kingdom to the curse and he especially doesn’t know how to act around a human who killed one of his best friends. What we get from Tamlin at the beginning is a cold standoffish very powerful fae to someone who cares deeply about everyone around him and who is looking for someone to understand him in all things. He’s a serious badass as far as things go. He can take down almost any crazy creature and he has swoon worthy kissing and biting that will make reading swoon long past finishing the book.

I enjoyed this book from beginning to end. I skipped meals, ignored wedding duties and my fiancée the entire time I was reading this story. So worth it.

Maas did an amazing job crafting this story with suspense, action, and high-risk situations that will have you on the end of your seat craving to know what will happen next.

Side note I have to say while I figured she would end up with Tamlin I really really like Rhys a lot and won’t give up on my hope someone will end up with him.

On the whole Beauty an d the Beast retelling I have to say ACOTR is so unique that I think it did a great job at taking a classic story and making it new.

While the romance is slow to start I thought it made sense in the story since Feyre is wary of faeries and is trying to get home and doesn’t really want to be there since she was kidnapped so it would have been kind of odd had the romance picked up right away.

Sarah J. Maas did a phenomenal job with this story and she definitely proves time and time again how amazing a writer she is.


Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she's not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion
.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...