Wednesday, September 16, 2015

ARC Review: The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas

The Burning Sky
The Elemental Trilogy #1
Paperback, 496 pages
Published by Balzer + Bray
Release Date: September 16th 2014

Blurb:
Magic, romance, and intrigue combine in this extraordinary novel—the first in the Elemental Trilogy—for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore. Publishers Weekly called it "a wonderfully satisfying magical saga" in a starred review, and Kirkus Reviews said it "bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success."

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she's been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of the Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.

Guided by his mother's visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission—and her life.

Reese's Review:
Prince Titus has been preparing for Iolanthe Seabourne the greatest elemental mage in many generations to help bring down the Bane. The Bane and his followers have been taking over and killing people who is the strongest elemental in a long time. Now he rules from the shadows. Prince Titus has finally found Iolanthe and while he wasn’t prepared for her to be a girl or to have no idea about her destiny he’s prepared to teach her everything he knows while hiding her at a boys school. Iolanthe doesn’t want anything to do with her prophecy, but now that her guardian was taken and the Bane’s workers are looking everywhere for her.

I really enjoyed this story so much. I had put this story off for some reason and now I am so mad at myself for not reading this book earlier. The adventure is so unique and special I found it nearly impossible to put down.

Iolanthe is a special character. She’s different than a lot of characters I’ve ever read. When she finds out what she’s supposed to do she tries to reason everything out and make smart decisions. She loyal to her friends and family and finds ways to protect them no matter the circumstances. I have to say she’s a very unique and strong character.

I fell for Titus’ character right off the bat. He’s just so loyal and sweet and intelligent, it’s everything you could want for a book boyfriend. He falls very quickly for Iolanthe but he’s very afraid of getting close due to his own prophecy of his death. I loved how Titus did whatever it took to make sure Iolanthe was strong enough to take down the Bane.

I am so excited about the sequel to this amazing trilogy. The book while a little slow at times was still a fantastic and quick read. I loved the high school aspects about this story because it really made this story a YA novel. I enjoyed the adorable and reluctant romance between Titus and Iolanthe.


Sherry Thomas writes both historical romance and young adult fantasy.

On the romance side, she is one of the most acclaimed authors working in the genre today, her books regularly receiving starred reviews and best-of-the-year honors from trade publications. She is also a two-time winner of Romance Writers of America’s prestigious RITA® Award.

On the young adult fantasy side, there isn't much to say yet, as her debut book is not scheduled for publication until September 2013.

Sherry writes in her second language. She learned English by reading lots of romance and science fiction--every word Isaac Asimov ever wrote, in fact. She is proud to say that her son is her biggest fanboy--for the YA fantasy, not the romances. At least, not yet...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...