Friday, May 31, 2013

Monthly Recap: May

Hey everyone! So I thought I would share with you some of the blogging and other stuff that has been going on with me in the last month and find out what's coming next...kinda like tv.

Books I've Reviewed this Month:

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Feature & Follow #29

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers — but you have to know — the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me, promise!

Swoon Thursday #16


Swoon Thursday is a weekly blog posting hosted by YA Bound
How to do it:


From the book you are currently reading from or just finished. Then state which part of the book made you swoon. What got your heart pounding, your skin tingling, and your stomach fluttering. 

Shout it out on Twitter with the hashtag #YABound, post it here in the comments, or grab the adorable button above and share it on your blog! We want to know.
This weeks swoon worth moment comes from the book: 

Damaged book 2  by H.M. Ward


Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #22

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by Breaking the Spine to show upcoming releases we're excited about. This weeks book is:

Desert Tales by Melissa Marr
Release Date: October 22nd, 2013

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Teaser Tuesday #21

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by the blog Should Be Reading. How to do it:
  • Grab your current read

  • Flip to a random page, and share a random teaser(s) from the book that aren't too spoiler-y
This weeks teaser comes from:

 This Love by Nazarea Andrews

Review: Antonia Pello Island

Book Info:
Title: Antonia
Series: Pello Island
Edition: Kindle Edition 
Pages: 160
Genre: Mythology, Fantasy
Published by Woofie Publications 
Release Date: November 8th 2012 
Book Description: (goodreads)
Antonia had a miserable life. As a child, she was rejected by her father, abused by her brothers, and sold to an abusive man whom she murdered on their wedding night. She was arrested and sent to Pello Island. Then Neptune blew that rocky island to smithereens, killing all its residents and prompting the Roman gods to give each of them a second chance. All but Antonia – they had forgotten her.

Seventeen hundred years following the destruction of Pello Island Antonia is still on Mount Olympus, but she has changed. She’s in love with Janus, a mortal who helps the gods settle the Pello Islanders in their new lives, and she doesn’t want to leave Olympus. She has no choice, however, for she was pregnant when the island exploded and that child is waiting to be born. Now the gods have found a body for her and her child, and she must go, leaving the only love she’s ever known to start a new life in eighteenth century Ireland.

Monday, May 27, 2013

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It's Monday! is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you've read the past week and are planning to read the next.

Last week: (read)



Sunday, May 26, 2013

Review: Darius Pello Island

Book Info:
Title: Darius
Series: Pello Island #2
Edition: ebook
Genre: Mythology, Fantasy
Pages: 163
Published August 26th 2012 

Book Description: (goodreads)
Darius, a Roman nobleman, has been sentenced to Pello Island, a Roman penal colony, for a murder he didn’t commit. Upon his arrival, he is taken under the wing of Livia, who teaches him how to survive the harsh conditions of Pello Island. With Livia's help, Darius becomes a better man. When she tragically dies, Darius reverts to his former dissolute ways, and when his young bride Cassia arrives to be with him for the duration of his sentence, he abandons her for the arms of a sultry prostitute named Antonia. Darius suffers from an unknown malady, and as his mind deteriorates, Cassia finds solace in the arms of her old, dear friend Amatus, and struggles to keep her infant daughter safe from her father’s escalating madness.

Saturday, May 25, 2013

Review: The Collector

Book Info:
Title: The Collector
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Edition: Kindle  
Pages: 352
Published March 25th 2013 
Book Description: (goodreads)
Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence has made him one of Hell’s best — a soul collector. His job is simple, weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment: Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within 10 days.

Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of Hell. But after Dante meets the quirky, Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect—he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector, and uncover emotions long ago buried.
Book Trailer: 

Friday, May 24, 2013

Blog Tour: Holding on and Letting Go


Tour Information

Title: Holding On and Letting Go

Author: Luce Kelly

Release date: March 2013

Tour organized by: Irresistible Reads Book Tours

Book Description:
Is there a way to describe the ties that bind us together? What happens when one of those ties is unexpectedly severed? Can everything else remain the same? Will the other ties hold strong?

Two years after her little brother's death, sixteen year old Emerson Caulfield returns to a home that she spent the last two years missing. In theory, everything should be the same. Her best friend, Matt, still lives next door. Her house is in the exact same condition as they left it. The scenery and hallways haven't changed, yet for Emerson, everything is completely different. The place may be the same, but Emerson is most certainly not. She returns home hurt, angry, and miles away from the girl she once was.

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Review: Pello Island: Cassia

Book Info:
Title: Pello Island: Cassia
Series: Pello Island
Edition: ebook 
Pages:181 
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Published by Woofie 
Release Date: June 8th 2012   
To buy: Amzon.com
Book Description: (goodreads)
Cassia, the young daughter of a wealthy Roman merchant, seems destined to live under her father’s thumb until the day she dies. Her fate is changed, however, the day she meets Darius – a nobleman whose addiction to gambling has left him in dire straits. They fall in love, but Darius’ father forbids a marriage. Cassia, under the spell of first love cannot let him go. She goes to him, and their reunion ends in tragedy. Darius is falsely accused of murder and sent to Pello Island, a prison colony south of Sicily, and Cassia vows to join him there in six months. 

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #21

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by Breaking the Spine to show upcoming releases we're excited about. This weeks book is:


Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan

Release Date: March 2014


Book Description: (goodreads)
You can’t change your DNA…even when it says you’re a murderer.

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Teaser Tuesday #20

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by the blog Should Be Reading. How to do it:
  • Grab your current read

  • Flip to a random page, and share a random teaser(s) from the book that aren't too spoiler-y
This weeks teaser comes from:

 This Love by Nazarea Andrews

Monday, May 20, 2013

Author Interview & Giveaway Barbie World

Barbie Girl (Baby Doll #1)
Book Description: (goodreads
The only thing that 17 year old Barbie Starr wants to do is graduate high school so she and her little brother, Everett, can get out of Alabama. She doesn’t care about the rumors that are spread around about her like wild fire. Rumors are nothing new to her. Sure, maybe she could change her reputation, but why bother. She is leaving Alabama as soon as she can. That is, if she can pass algebra and graduate.

The only thing Dylan Knight would like to do is go through high school unnoticed; he has had enough of the drama that is high school. He took the whole of last summer to bulk-up: finally he is not being called names or being shoved into lockers. He wants to remain on the outside of the circle of constant rumors that surround the so-called popular kids who get all the attention. He would not, however, mind if his long time crush Katie took notice of him.

But it is Barbie who notices Dylan and she offers him a deal he can’t pass up: if he helps her pass algebra, she’ll help him get the girl of his dreams. Dylan agrees, but, as it turns out, nothing is simple when it comes to Barbie. Somehow, she can’t help but draw attention to herself — and to him. Soon Dylan finds himself tossed into the whirlwind of rumors that seem to follow Barbie everywhere. Can he save his reputation and still get the girl of his dreams? Or will Barbie be the one to break through his carefully-built facade?




Today I have Heidi Acosta here to give us some insight on Barbie Girl, the series, and about herself as an author.


Saturday, May 18, 2013

Stacking the Shelves #26

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly blog post hosted by Tynga's Reviews to share what books you've bought this past week.

Kindle:


 Sherry has always known there was something out there. She's eighteen, works for a tabloid newspaper in Chicago and has a brother, Danny who is a lazy mooch. They live a pretty normal dull life with hippie parents and a normal existence. Then the moon dissapears and people start to go missing only to reappear later, but different. Sherry has an abusive ex-boyfriend who shows up and claims to be one of these beings that have been showing up around the world. He's no longer the same person in that body. He tells her he has come to protect her and her brother and takes her underground, against her will to save her, where they meet others like them. She begins to unravel the truth about Merrick, about what he's really doing here, about the way he looks at her, about the crazy dangerous world they live in. Can he convince her that he's here to help? Will she like what she finds when she opens up to the truth? Will he be the one to love her when everyone else has failed her? Will he be able to protect her?




 An angel without a mission, Apollyon lives trapped in Hell guarding the bottomless pit. Surrounded by endless darkness, he longs to fly free on Earth once more but his master hasn’t called him in centuries. When the call finally comes, it’s to serve a new master, a beautiful woman he has often watched over, a woman who has always captivated him.

Serenity is shocked when a gorgeous black-winged angel shows up in her city of Paris claiming that she called him when she was only casting a simple vengeance spell. He’s no other than the angel of death! When Apollyon offers to obey her and help her have revenge on her cheating ex-boyfriend, she can’t resist the temptation, but can she resist him? Can an angel as dark as Apollyon ever fall for a mortal woman like her?


Read More!




 Annelie fell for Lukas the moment he walked into her pub three years ago. He’s stunning, his vivid green eyes lending to his otherworldly beauty, but he’s seriously out of her league. When he tells her that she’s beautiful and confesses that he wants her, she can’t resist him and his passionate kiss. She unleashes her desire and seizes the moment and Lukas with both hands. But Lukas has a secret, one that will test Annelie’s love for him and threaten to tear them apart. 

He’s an angel.


Read More!






Thursday, May 16, 2013

Feature & Follow #28

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers — but you have to know — the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me, promise!

 

 

 

Q: School is out! What is your favorite Summer Reading book?

 

Cover Reveal: Barbie World



Review: Entice(The Violet Eden Chapters #2)

Book Info:
Title: Entice
Edition: Paperback 
Pages: 438 
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Published by Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date: March 1st 2013
To Buy: Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Book Depository

Book Description: (goodreads)
CONSEQUENCE HAUNTS EVERY CHOICE

Violet Eden is Grigori - part angel, part human. Her destiny is to protect humans from the vengence of exiled angels.
Knowing who to trust is key but, when Grigori reinforcements arrive, it becomes clear everyone is hiding something. Even Lincoln. The only thing Violet does know: Phoenix's hold over her is more dangerous than ever.
The race to find the one thing that could tilt the balance of power brings them all to the sacred mountains of Jordan, where Violet's power will be pushed to the extreme. And the ultimate betrayal exposed.

Enticed (now retitled ENTICE) is the second compelling book in The Violet Eden Chapters.

Book Video:


My Review:
Initial Reaction:
I was really excited about reading Entice and learning more about Violet and her world. I was hoping for a lot of action and some more hot scenes between Violet and Lincoln.

Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #20

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by Breaking the Spine to show upcoming releases we're excited about. This weeks book is:

Endless (The Violet Eden Series #4) by Jessica Shirvington

Book Description: (goodreads)
Love will kill us all.

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Review: The Arrangement #7

Book Info:
Title: The Arrangement #7
Series: The Arrangement 
Edition: Kindle Edition
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Pages: 121
Published by Laree Bailey Press 
Released: May 11th 2013


Book Description: (goodreads)
Volume 7 in the New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Arrangement Serials

Release date: Sunday, May 12, 2013

When Avery learns Sean's dark secret, everything changes. His confession blindsides her. Sean has a shady past, she knew that from the beginning, but this is so much worse than she thought. There's a dangerous side to Sean. It's alluring and frightening at the same time. Avery has to decide if love can overcome anything or if she should protect her heart.

Genre: New Adult Romance
This story unfolds over multiple volumes of approx. 20,000 words each.
~The Arrangement Vol 1 - 7 are on sale now.~

*Warning: Content is more graphic in this volume. Not suitable for younger readers.

My Review:
I received and ARC of this book for an honest  review.

Monday, May 13, 2013

Review: Mystery Falls

Book Info:
Title: Mystery Falls
Edition: ebook 
Pages: 345
Published by Marilyn Phillips via Smashwords 
Release Date: July 3rd 2012 
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Paranormal
Book Description: (goodreads)
Secrets. Lies. Deception. For the past six years, Samantha Hunt has lived with the belief that the untimely death of her parents was the result of an unfortunate accident—that by the cruel hand of fate, she had been left an orphan. But it was a lie, a terrible lie told to her by those who wanted to keep her in the dark. And the truth... when revealed, will change her life and haunt her forever.

Suddenly plagued by a series of events which find her in danger and in need of a savior, Samantha is repeatedly rescued by the mysterious and elusive Shadow—a stranger who seems to know more about her past and the tragedy which befell her family, than she does. Drawn to him despite the antagonism she feels whenever in his presence, Samantha soon discovers that Shadow is not what he appears to be. Determined to learn his true identity and why he has come to Mystery Falls, the small town in which she has spent all of her seventeen years, Samantha not only uncovers the secrets he refuses to share, but also the truth about her own past. A truth which forces her to acknowledge that things are not always as they seem, and sometimes, not even those close to you can be trusted.

Resolved to seeking justice for the unwarranted death of her parents, Samantha embarks on a journey which brings her perilously close to her own demise. Can Shadow use his angel powers to save her yet again, or this time, will he be too late.
My Review:
Before Reading:
I was very excited about reading Mystery Falls. I had heard about the book from the author Marilyn Philips who is a great blogger friend. As soon as I found out that this frequent commenter on my blog had a book I knew as soon as I could I would read her book.

Sunday, May 12, 2013

Why Reading's Important Guest Post

Reading Improves Children's Imagination and Cognitive Development
You might be a person who never really enjoyed readings, and these vibes are starting to rub off on your children. However, it's important to realize that reading improves children's imagination and cognitive development in the following ways.

Literary Elements
Authors specifically work to include literary elements in their stories that enhance the imaginations of all readers. For example, imagery and symbolism come to life to let your child envision what he or she is reading. Even if the story does not have any pictures, these devices are used to help create an image in the mind of the reader, who, in this case, is your child. Stories with pictures can even allow children to imagine what is going on outside of that world.

Building Vocabulary
You absolutely must realize the immense effect that reading has on building the vocabulary of a child. In today's world, it is so important to be able to communicate, and many different jobs will require that your child is able to do so effectively when he or she is grown. However, during both the school years and later on in life, certain situations are going to be a struggle if your child does not understand the basic definition of words. When your child is reading, encourage him or her to use a dictionary to look up unfamiliar words.

Saturday, May 11, 2013

Review: The Arrangement #6

Book Info:
Title: The Arrangement 
Pages: 115
Published by Laree Bailey Press 
Release Date: April 30th 2013 
Book Description: (goodreads)
Volume 6 in the Arrangement Serials by NY Times Bestselling Author H.M. Ward

Just as Avery thinks she finds balance with her position as a call girl and her relationship with Sean, everything changes. The relationships that she has depended on are suddenly gone. After years of friendship, Avery is forced to face the cold hard truth--there is no place for feelings in this kind of business.

Genre: New Adult Romance
This story unfolds over multiple volumes approx. 20,000 words each.
~The Arrangement Vol 1 - 6 are on sale now.~
My Review:

Before reading:
I was desperate to read Arrangement #6 after the way Arrangement #5 left off. I knew something was going to happen that would change everything.

Friday, May 10, 2013

Cover Reveal: This Love

Blurb:
She wants a summer job and a ride to a wedding.
He wants an assistant and a distraction from the mess his life has become.
They didn't know they needed each other.

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Finals & Summer!

Guess which chick is officially done with finals? Me!! I am so so happy I am finally done with all my finals. After I get my grades I will officially be a junior in college. *sigh* time goes by so fast. I still have about...4 or 5 more years of college but I am so happy because when I started college it was 7 or 8 so yippee for me!

This is the song I am feeling about my life right now:



I will still be busy the next couple of days so I may or may not be posting every day like usual. I leave for home Saturday and the next few days after that may be a bit hectic but then I am home free for summer living so that means:

Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Cover Reveal: Obsession

Loving it!! Oh cover crush!

OBSESSION official Blurb:


He’s arrogant, domineering, and… To. Die. For.

Waiting on Wednesday #19

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by Breaking the Spine to show upcoming releases we're excited about. This weeks book is:

The Liberator (Dante Walker #2) 
by Victoria Scott
Book Description:
Bad boy, meet bad girl.

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Review: Barbie Girl

Book Info:
Title: Barbie Girl
Series: Baby Doll #1
Genre: Young Adult
Edition: ebook 
Pages: 189 
Published November 1st 2012
To Buy: Amazon


Book Description: (goodreads)

The only thing that 17 year old Barbie Starr wants to do is graduate high school so she and her little brother, Everett, can get out of Alabama. She doesn’t care about the rumors that are spread around about her like wild fire. Rumors are nothing new to her. Sure, maybe she could change her reputation, but why bother. She is leaving Alabama as soon as she can. That is, if she can pass algebra and graduate.

The only thing Dylan Knight would like to do is go through high school unnoticed; he has had enough of the drama that is high school. He took the whole of last summer to bulk-up: finally he is not being called names or being shoved into lockers. He wants to remain on the outside of the circle of constant rumors that surround the so-called popular kids who get all the attention. He would not, however, mind if his long time crush Katie took notice of him.

But it is Barbie who notices Dylan and she offers him a deal he can’t pass up: if he helps her pass algebra, she’ll help him get the girl of his dreams. Dylan agrees, but, as it turns out, nothing is simple when it comes to Barbie. Somehow, she can’t help but draw attention to herself — and to him. Soon Dylan finds himself tossed into the whirlwind of rumors that seem to follow Barbie everywhere. Can he save his reputation and still get the girl of his dreams? Or will Barbie be the one to break through his carefully-built facade? 

 Book Trailer:


My Review:
I received a copy of this book for an honest review.

Before I started reading:
I was so sure this was going to be an easy fun read about two polar opposites falling in love.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...