Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Review: Riptide

Riptide (The Secret Life of Trystan Scott #3)
by H.M. Ward
Book Info:
Edition: Smashword
Published by Laree Bailey Press 
Release Date: November 10th 2012 
Genre: Young Adult, Romance
Author: H.M. Ward

Synopsis: (goodreads)
A random hook-up isn't enough for Trystan, not anymore.

After everything Trystan went through to tell Mari that he loves her, there is no way that he's letting her walk away without knowing how he really feels. Every mask is stripped away making Trystan completely vulnerable. Mari's the one girl he wants, that he knew he'd never have. But, the look on Mari's face--the way she kissed him--makes Trystan think that confessing his feelings was worth the risk.

Shocked, Mari stands there staring at Trystan. As if it weren't enough that Trystan is internet super star, Day Jones, but the song he wrote was about her. That was her name on the music. It was her name etched into his heart. Trystan Scott loves her.

Everything Mari wants is within reach. She just has to have enough guts to reach out and take it.

Book 3 in the Secret Life of Trystan Scott.


Monday, April 29, 2013

Music Monday #18

Music Monday is a blog review I post on my blog to change up my reviews, and to share my love of music. I am extremely excited about this book review today, and I hope you like it too!!

Book Info:
Title: The Arrangement
Edition: Kindle
Published by Laree Bailey Press 
Release Date: April 14th 2013
Buy: Amazon
Book Description: (goodreads)
Volume 5 in the Arrangement Serials by NY Times Bestselling Author H.M. Ward

Avery’s emotions are fried, but she doesn’t have to think twice about her BFFs Marty and Mel. They mean everything to her. They’re the family she doesn’t have. In a crisis, they’re the people to have by her side, and God knows this is a crisis. Friends like that are worth their weight in gold.

If only things with Sean were so simple. Regret is something that is impossible to subdue. There are still things to be said, things to do. Life is too short to live in the past, but when Avery wakes up at the hospital she finds that her world has changed.

Genre: New Adult Romance
This story unfolds over multiple volumes approx. 20,000 words each.
Music:
I chose Good Girl by Carrie Underwood because I felt like this was the perfect song for this entire series to be honest. Everyone is telling Avery to stay away from Sean but she's just not seeing it. See lyrics!


Sunday, April 28, 2013

Weekly Recap and Blogger Thank You's!


Hello everyone! I am going to be sharing what I did this past week and will be thanking a bunch of special people this week!

Posts this week:
Lots of memes this week but that's because it's almost finals week and I haven't had the time or the energy to write my reviews. Thankfully I got those done Friday and Saturday so this upcoming week prepare for reviews!


Saturday, April 27, 2013

Stacking the Shelves #24

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly blog post hosted by Tynga's Reviews to share what books you've bought this past week. This week I've decided instead of posted books I've stacked my shelves with I'm going to post about books I have already on my shelves but haven't read yet. That way people can see what's on my shelves and make suggestions on what I should read next.

Hard Copies:


  1. Stolen Nights (Vampire Queen #2) by Rebecca Maizel
  2. Henry Franks by Peter Adam Salomon
  3. Deviants (Dust Chronicles #1) by Maureen McGowan
  4. Soul Screamer Vol. 1 by Rachel Vincent
  5. Soul Screamers Vol. 2 by Rachel Vincent
  6. With All My Soul (Soul Screamers #7) by Rachel Vincent
  7. Carrier of the Mark (Carrier #1) by Leigh Fallon
  8. Shadow of the Mark (Carrier #2) by Leigh Fallon
  9. Solstice by P.J. Hoover
  10. Tempest (Tempest #1) by Julie Cross
  11. Vortex (Tempest #2) by Julie Cross
  12. The Ruining by Anna Collomore 
  13. Walking Disaster (Beautiful #2) by Jamie McGuire
 

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Feature & Follow #26

 
Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers — but you have to know — the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me, promise!

Q: Is there a song that reminds you of a book? Or vice versa? What is the song & the book?

Swoon Thursday #15

Swoon Thursday is a weekly blog posting hosted by YA Bound
How to do it:

From the book you are currently reading from or just finished. Then state which part of the book made you swoon. What got your heart pounding, your skin tingling, and your stomach fluttering. 

Shout it out on Twitter with the hashtag #YABound, post it here in the comments, or grab the adorable button above and share it on your blog! We want to know.
This weeks swoon worth moment comes from the book: 

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #18

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by Breaking the Spine to show upcoming releases we're excited about. This weeks book is:

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) 
by Sarah Maas

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Teaser Tuesday #19

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by the blog Should Be Reading. How to do it:

  • Grab your current read
  • Flip to a random page, and share a random teaser(s) from the book that aren't too spoiler-y
This weeks teaser comes from:

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare
My Teasers:
Jem coughed again, and this time Will heard it; he turned just in time to see his parabatai slump to his knees on the ground.

He choked as the wind was knocked out of him. The worm's thin, annulated tail was wrapped around his knees. He kicked out, seeing stars, Jem's anxious face, blue sky above him-.

What are your teasers this week?
 

Monday, April 22, 2013

Patricia Neely Dorsey's Guest Post






In the preface of her book of poetry, This is My Century, Margaret Walker wrote, "If
I could write my epitaph it would read: Here lies Margaret Walker, Poet and
Dreamer...She tried to make her life a poem."

She goes on to write, "The South is my home, and my adjustment or accommodation to
the South-whether real or imagined (mystic and legendary), violent or nonviolent- is the
subject and source of all my poetry. It is my life."

These are my sentiments exactly.... I could not have said it any better myself. I write
about the south. The South IS my home. It IS my life. I invite you to share my southern
life.... in poems.

One author/editor of the 19th century once said: "I don't read, I have an intimate
conversation with the writer."

That is what I hope to achieve with my books...an intimate conversation with the reader
about the south... giving an upclose and personal view of the southern way of life.
Using poetic storytelling, I hope to, not only, entertain, but also, educate and enlighten,
while helping to preserve the beautiful, rich southern culture, history and heritage that
I know, along with promoting and fostering an appreciation and understanding of the
importance of cultural diversity, individuality, self-expression and regional pride.

"In the South, the breeze blows softer...neighbors are friendlier, nosier, and more talkative. This is a
different place. Our way of thinking is different, as are our ways of seeing, laughing, singing, eating,
meeting and parting. Our walk is different, as the old song goes, our talk and our names. Nothing about
us is quite the same as in the country to the north and west. What we carry in our memories is different
too, and that may explain everything else."
--Charles Kuralt in "Southerners: Portrait of a People"



Where to Purchase Reflections of a Mississippi Magnolia

Amazon Paperback

Barnes & Noble Paperback

My Magnolia Memories

Amazon Paperback

Barnes & Noble Paperback

Patricia's Website / Facebook

Add Patricia’s Books to Your Goodreads List:
Reflections of a Mississippi Magnolia
My Magnolia Memories and Musings

Blog Tour Link:
http://worldwindvirtualbooktours.weebly.com/tour-reflections--magnolia-memories.html

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It's Monday! is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you've read the past week and are planning to read the next.

Last week:
Posted Reviews of:
 I loved this book so so much. Read my review here!

 Rating: 5/5 Bats!













 
Did another SupaGurl Blog Tour that had me review this interesting novel. Read Review and Synopsis-->HERE!


 Rating: 4/5













I also got a couple review requests from...I believe this one is from November, I know bad but I finally got this one done this week and I was super happy! Read Review-->HERE!


Rating:3.5/5 bats



 







I received this book for review from a blog tour page I participate with because it had no reviews or read. So I helped out with that and if you want to check out my review you can do so-->HERE!



 Rating: 3/5 bats










Another review request down for the count! Go me I was feeling super awesome to have another review request from a while back completed! Go me! Read review HERE!

Rating: 2/5 bats










I really enjoyed this book and cannot wait for the third one. Talks a lot about nature and just how in danger a lot of wild life is. Great inspirational story! Read review HERE!

Rating: 4/5 bats












I received an ARC of the third book when I won the YASH at the end of last year so I had to go get one and two. I finished all the books this weekend and posted my review of this book a couple days ago! Read HERE! 

Rating: 3.5/ 5 bats











 I've had this review in my drafts for a while and finally got it posted this week. Go me! Review HERE!
















 This Week:
I read this book last week so I will be posting my review sometime this week! Read Synopsis HERE!













Finished this book Saturday night. Haven't reviewed it yet but planning on doing that this week as well and posting it for all to see. See synopsis HERE!















Read and Review for next week!















Read and Review for next week!















Read and Review for next week!
Read synopsis!
















I would also like to give a special shout out to some awesome bloggers who commented on my posts this week! I love you and think you are made of awesome! Thank you all so so much for commenting this week it meant a lot!
It's Monday what are you reading?

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Review: Backdraft

Backdraft (The Secret Life of Trystan Scott #2) by H.M. Ward
Book Info:
Edition: Smashword
Published by Laree Bailey Press 
Release Date:  October 1st 2012 
Genre: Young Adult, Romance
Author: H.M. Ward

Synopsis: (goodreads)
When Mari realizes that Trystan is the internet megastar, Day Jones, she can’t speak. Every time she listens to his song, it leaves her feeling so much. That song is bewitching. Everyone she knows heard it. As soon as it appeared on YouTube, it went viral, and then the guy who wrote it disappeared. Despite agents and record labels trying to lure Day5705 out, he remains anonymous. No one knows who Day Jones really is—except Mari.

To Trystan’s relief, Mari agrees to keep his secret. Part of him regrets uploading the song, but when he sings to Mari the song that once brought him solace, it fills him joy. In a life like his, joy is fleeting and Trystan plans on grabbing hold whenever a shot at happiness appears. To his surprise, Mari doesn’t realize the song is about her. When Trystan tries to push her to see, he jeopardizes losing her entirely.

One misplaced kiss topples the fragile relationship, leaving Trystan reeling, trying to assemble the pieces and convincing Mari that she’s not just another conquest, even though everything he did—everything he said—makes it seem like she is. It isn’t until Mari decides that being the good girl isn’t working that things steam up. Trystan knows she wants to hook up with someone, and he doesn’t know if he should stop her. Every attempt he makes to win her over goes bad and pushes her further away.

As the world gets one day closer to tracking down Day Jones, Trystan is one day closer to graduation and leaving this life forever. If Mari doesn’t realize he loves her by then, she never will.

My Review:
I received this book for a honest review.

When Mari finally realizes her feelings for Trystan she runs back to tell him how she feels, only to find out that Trystan is the famous Day Jones, the writer and singer of the new hit song everyone has fallen in love. The guy talent agents are searching for.

Now that Mari knows she'll do anything to help Trystan keep his secret. Of coarse now that she knows he wrote the song, she wants to know more and more who this mystery girl is

Shocked by the discovery Trystan begs Mari  not to tell anyone. Realizing that he just played for the girl who stole his heart has filled him with a feeling he never had before. Now it takes everything he has not to tell her how he feels.

When they both get in trouble with the drama director that lands Mari a lawsuit, they both end up having to clean up the teachers closet. When everything seems fine they realize they've been locked in, and both of them are claustrophobic. When Trystan asks Mari to kiss him and she doesn't things become more and more awkward in the closet.

Finally released Mari tells Trystan to leave her alone because she knows he'll break her heart. When seeing him with another girl later she asks him about a random hook-up that leaves him wondering who she wants to be with.

When everything seems to be going from bad to worse for Trystan he realizes he may never get what he wants; Mari and a way out.

   

Saturday, April 20, 2013

Review: Entice (Violet Eden #1)

Book Info:
Title: Embrace 
Edition: Paperback,  
Pages: 369
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Published by Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date: September 2012
To Buy: Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Book Depository

Book Description: (goodreads)
It starts with a whisper: “It’s time for you to know who you are…”

Violet Eden dreads her seventeenth birthday. After all, it’s hard to get too excited about the day that marks the anniversary of your mother’s death. As if that wasn’t enough, disturbing dreams haunt her sleep and leave her with very real injuries. There’s a dark tattoo weaving its way up her arms that wasn’t there before.

Violet is determined to get some answers, but nothing could have prepared her for the truth. The guy she thought she could fall in love with has been keeping his identity a secret: he’s only half-human—oh, and same goes for her.

A centuries-old battle between fallen angels and the protectors of humanity has chosen its new warrior. It’s a fight Violet doesn’t want, but she lives her life by two rules: don’t run and don’t quit. When angels seek vengeance and humans are the warriors, you could do a lot worse than betting on Violet Eden…

Book Trailer:
 My Review:
Initial Response:
I was really hesitant as to whether I was going to like or read Embrace or not. From the synopsis I thought the story would be another over done angel story with little action.

Plot:
Violet Eden just wants her birthday to come and go. Her birthday is the one day of the year that Violet just wants to slip under the radar and not get presents. When Violet leaves dinner early Steph Violets best friend and Lincoln the boy Violet is madly and irrationally in love with hang at the bar to party. When Violet starts dancing with a hot guy to make Lincoln jealous, it works and they share a hot and heavy kiss in an alley.

Now Violet is more confused on where their relationship stands. Heading to confront him, Violet finds Lincoln talking about all the secrets he’s been keeping from her. Finding out from the boy she’s been in love with since he came into her life to help her become strong has been lying to her about whom and what he is hurts Violet more than anything.

Running away despite all her rules against that very thing she hides away from Linc and his world. While in hiding she feels more alone than ever and finds a new friend, the guy she met at the club, a guy who isn’t a guy at all and has been following her. Phoenix is an exile and as they begin to spend time together a secret plan that the other exiles have put into motion makes certain that Violet has no choice but to embrace her new life and all the dangers and secrets that come with it.

Characters:
Violet was a freaking awesome character for the first half of the book. She’s strong, talented, and while she does wallow in self-pity land for quite a while it doesn’t take up too much of the book. Violet while a strong character does have some weaknesses that I think made her a better more believable and relatable.
Lincoln is one sexy character. While he does withhold information from Violet he is amazingly sentimental and caring to Violet despite her being constantly rude and distant from him.
Phoenix while sexy and sweet at times, there was no way I trusted him through most of the book.
Steph is a great character and friend. While many books have the best friends become distant and then usually have the main character distancing themselves from them. That was not the case with Violet and Steph. The two were constant friends and always covering and calling each other.

Overall:
I really enjoyed Embrace. Embrace’s story has a ton of action, emotional turmoil, hottie guys, and my personal favorite a strong female protagonist. The writing was truly well done with excellent and realistic word choice. There was plenty of description but not too much as you know if you read my other reviews I’m not a big fan of, lots of interaction with characters as well as inner monologue. I loved how in the story I wasn't always sure what was going on or who the bad guy was and that was pretty exciting.

Dislikes:
Violet….okay seriously when she did what she did with Phoenix I threw the books a couple thousand times. Ugh! I was so mad. I hated that she did that and that while most of the book she’s such a strong and amazing character she is controlled so easily. Made me supernova pissed at this.

Title & Cover:
Title totally makes sense with the story because of what Embracing means to Violet and angel-human kind.

Embrace’s cover kicks butt. I love the purple, the city in the background and the beautiful wings extend from Violets back.

Recommend:
I would recommend Embrace to anyone who loves young adult stories that are action packed and full of mystical yet tragic worlds.

All in all:
Embrace is an enthralling story and will leave readers eager for more of Violet and her amazing story.

Read Except!



About the Author:
Jessica Shirvington is the author of THE VIOLET EDEN CHAPTERS also known as THE EMBRACE SERIES. An entrepreneur, author, and mother living in Sydney, Australia, Jessica is also a 2011 finalist for Cosmopolitan’s annual Fun, Fearless Female Award. She’s also one of the lucky few who met the love of her life at age seventeen: Matt Shirvington, a former Olympian and current sports broadcaster for FOXTEL and Sky News. Married for almost eleven years with two beautiful daughters, Sienna and Winter, Jessica knows her early age romance and its longevity has definitely contributed to how she tackles relationships in her YA novels. Previously, she founded a coffee distribution company, Stella Imports, in London, and before that was involved in the management of restaurants Fuel Bistro and MG Garage in Sydney. Jessica is now a full-time novelist and living her dream.
To contact:
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...