Sunday, March 31, 2013

Monthly Recap: March


Hey everyone! So I thought I would share with you some of the blogging and other stuff that has been going on with me in the last month and find out what's coming next...kinda like tv.

List of Books I reviewed this month:
Fun stuff from March:
  • Went and saw The Host-review on that will come soon.
  • Had Spring Break, it sucked but I had it.
  • I've recently discovered that I am in love with Banner making. I started making them with all the books I've reviewed. Not sure anyone's noticed but I really enjoy making them.
  • Finally started "catching up" on my review requests.

Music  I've been listening to:

Lightning by Alex Goot

The Kiss (Carly Rae Jepsen) by Alex Goot (Cover)

Mulan: I'll Make a Man Out of You

Little Town Beauty and the Beast


Posts that got the most loving:

Author of the Month:

Books I'm excited about in April::


What to expect in April:
  •  Well I am working super hard on my getting my 50 some review requests out soon so you can expect a lot of review requests reviews this month.
  • Also I am participating in a numerous amount of blog tours so make sure to check those out.
  •  I am pretty much booked on homework for this last month and two weeks of school so...yeah buckets of fun for me. I pinky swear to continue blogging regularly.
  • I am continuing my book banners so that's probably the highlight of my reviews since they're so fun and colorful!
    •  Going to try and be more active this month with commenting on other peoples blogs this month. I know all the blogs I follow and that are following me love comments just as much as I do so I will be working on improving my commenting!


     I hope everyone had a great March and let's kick April off to a great start!

Saturday, March 30, 2013

Stacking the Shelves #22 & Weekly Recap

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly blog post hosted by Tynga's Reviews to share what books you've bought this past week.

Received for Review:


Bought:

Marilyn Phillips is a special blogging friend who is near and dear to my heart. I recently bought her book for my kindle so make sure to check her out and look out for my review!! Thank you Marilyn for being such a great blogging friend!!


 
Book Reviews:
Blog Tour:
Memes:
Cover Reveal:

What did you stack your shelves with?

Friday, March 29, 2013

Blog Tour: Hidden Under Her Heart


Book Blurb:
Maryanne Torres is a compassionate nurse who fails at relationships. After a string of losers, she swears off premarital sex, hoping to land a marrying type of man.

Lucas Knight, a law-school dropout, moves to California to train for the Ironman Triathlon. He's smart, sweet, and everything Maryanne wants in a man, but their relationship suffers from his dedication to the sport. Seeking consolation in the arms of a handsome preacher's son, Maryanne attends a church party where she is raped.

Maryanne is pregnant from the rape and plans to abort. But the identity of her rapist is hidden in her baby's DNA. Lucas asks Maryanne to seek alternatives and pledges to support her through the pregnancy. When Lucas becomes the prime suspect, Maryanne must clear his name and make a life changing decision.

The rapist has other ideas. In order to destroy the evidence, he offers Maryanne an illegal offshore abortion. With Maryanne's life in danger, Lucas races to save her and her baby. However, Maryanne hides a secret that threatens to tear them apart forever. 


My Review:
I received a copy for an honest review.

Maryanne is a dedicated nurse who with her best friend has sworn off all sex until receiving a proposal. After countless bad relationships Maryanne thinks she's up for the task. That is until Lucas Knight comes in for his allergy shots. While trying to ward his advances off he somehow weasels his way into her life, and her heart.

Lucas Knight has his dreams set on training and making it to the Olympics. Knowing he has to train hard daily he holds this dream above almost everything else, until he meets Maryanne. Maryanne while seemingly hard and cold at their initial meeting, Lucas can see she’s fragile and broke underneath that rough exterior. Wanting nothing more than to make her happy he sets out on becoming her friend and quickly becomes her love interest.

Maryanne has had so many heart breaks that she doesn’t know who or how to trust anyone anymore. Catching Lucas in a compromising situation she sets out on trying to forget him at a church party she was invited to. What ends up happening changes her life forever.

Finding Maryanne out behind the church dumpster, barely conscious, with no memory and odd clothing, Lucas quickly calls the police and tries to sort things out. Sending Maryanne in the hospital for an exam she soon finds out she was drugged. When later Maryanne finds out she’s been raped by a video gone viral she quickly takes a pregnancy test and finds she’s been impregnated by one of her rapists.

Dragging Lucas into her horrible situation isn’t what Maryanne wants to do. Too bad when he finds out he insists on trying to take care of her through her pregnancy and having her not have an abortion.

When everything becomes too much and Lucas’ reputation and career are run through the mud Maryanne does everything she can to make sure that Lucas is cleared of all rape charges.

Just when things start looking up Maryanne’s life gets turned upside-down and realizes she may want to keep this baby after all.

This story is absolutely nothing like I expected. I wasn’t really sure what I expected thinking back now but this was not it. Hidden Under Her Heart has a great moral behind it. The story talks a lot about the toll an abortion takes on everyone.

While this story was great in its originality, writing, and story-telling, I had a lot of problems with it. Well not a lot but I did not like Maryanne as a character at all. I felt she was an un-relatable character to me no matter how hard I tried to feel for her. Her character was so inconsistent with everything. She wants one thing but does another she’s a control freak who goes out drinking? She’s a nurse who should know the effects of a date rape drug but refused to get tested? She wants everyone to give her another chance when she barely gives anyone else one. I just found her so pathetic and hypocritical I could barely stand her much of the time.

Lucas on the other hand I had no problem relating to. First off, I have been dying for more ethnicity in books and not just the best friend. Lucas is a love interest who is half-black and half-white, just like me!! Did you know most of the time if the mother is black while the father is white the child is darker? True in all instances I’ve seen. Anyway I love Lucas. He’s sweet, considerate, and while he has his own problems that he has a hard time with he is always true and loyal to a fault.

Also another side point to add here when Lucas talks to Maryanne about his father and then she asks if he knows or has ever met him? Wtf seriously? I know the stereotype is that black people are all bastard children and don’t know their fathers, like myself, but who the hells asks that?

Sorry distraction there, overall the story was good. Told from the dual perspectives of Lucas and Maryanne really opens up to what the two characters are viewed as and how they think they are. I do think this book is one of those where it’s only a one time read. It was an inspiring and eye opening story that I hope some people will check out!

Third and final side note: The cover and the title make total sense as to what they are and I love when that happens!!


Author Bio:
Rachelle Ayala is the author of dramatic fiction crossing genres and boundaries featuring strong but flawed characters. She writes emotionally challenging stories and is not afraid of controversial topics. However, she is an optimist and laces her stories with romance and hope.

Rachelle Ayala has written three novels. Michal’s Window is a powerful and emotional journey as lived through the eyes of Princess Michal, King David’s first wife. Broken Build is a story of redemption and healing where a man learns to love and trust the woman who destroyed his life. Finally, Hidden Under Her Heart is concerned with forgiveness in the face of judgment over abortion.

Visit her at: Website: http://rachelleayala.me Blog: http://www.rachelleayala.com or follow @AyalaRachelle on Twitter.

Stalk the Author



Buy links for Hidden Under Her Heart

Kindle
Paperback
Nook

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Feature & Follow #25

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers — but you have to know — the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me, promise!

 

Q: Tell us about the most emotional scene you've ever read in a book - and how did you react?

 

A: The most emotional scene I've read in a book? Hm....oh okay I got it.  Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) by Richelle Mead. I'm not going to say what part made me cry because if you've the book you know what scene at the end of the book I'm talking about. Every time I read that book and get to that scene I cry before it happens, during, and after. 


What's the most emotional scene you've ever read?

Review: Inbetween



Book Info:
Edition: Paperback
Pages: 400
Series: Kissed by Death #1
Published by Entangled Teen 
Release Date: August 28th 2012 
Genre: Young Adult. Paranormal Romance, Fantasy


Book Trailer:


My Review:

Finn's afterlife sucks. His job is to collect souls and bring them to the Inbetween where they will be judged. Finn hates his job, hates taking souls out of their bodies with his scythe and bringing them to an untold future. Having lost the love of his life and being continuously punished for the deed he crosses paths with his love again. Too bad he's supposed to bring her to her death, but ends up saving her and bringing her into the path of an evil that wants to doom them both.

Emma's life after that fateful car accident that had cost her fathers’ life has been filled with nothing but aching loneliness. Constantly on edge from accidents she can't explain has landed her in the psych ward. Now that she's out no matter the strange occurrences she'll keep them to herself to keep herself out of there.

When one of the "accidents" nearly kills her in front of the school Finn ends up going solid to save her. Seeing him Emma has a flash of recognition and can't get him from her mind. Too bad that little stunt has Finn in trouble with Balthazar, the being that can and is threatening to send Finn to Hell if he goes out of line for the girl again.

While walking to tight line of protecting Emma from Maeve, saving all the souls he's supposed to, and staying out of Hell Finn isn’t sure how much more he can take or his pressing guilt over Emma’s life.  When Emma’s desperation to find answers become too much, Finn reveals himself and what he is to her. 

Quickly what became a search for answers leads to the two falling madly in love. Even with all their struggles Emma is quickly finding that while her life is becoming more and more complicated she has Finn. 

This was the problem. When I was with Emma nothing else mattered. The lines disappeared. I could barely remember the rules I was supposed to be following. 

When the “accidents” lead to Emma almost dying a few times, Emma finds out the truth about whom she used to be and who Finn is to her, with the truth revealed to her she realizes, everything has changed.

When everything comes to the end Finn takes a risk that very well could end him in Hell and away from Emma forever.

Inbetween is an amazingly unique story that will have you wishing for love in the afterlife. I really enjoyed reading Inbetween. At first I thought I wouldn’t because every time a bunch of people seem to love a book, I don’t. Thankfully that wasn’t the case at all with this book.

Tara Fuller did an amazing job with this unique story. The story line was so unique and different from anything I’ve ever read before.

Emma is an alright protagonist. I generally like to read about strong protagonists, and Emma was anything but. I had a major issue with her during one of the scenes. First off, during the scene she’s going to see a horror flick. Now, I may not have ever watched a horror movie before but I always know the people who go off alone somewhere end up dying. You’d think the chick would know that but nooo!

Blood trickled into my eye and I managed to swipe it away with the back of my wrist.

I loved Finn. Super sexy, super loyal, super vulnerable Finn is everything a girl could want, well except for the dead part. He was honestly my favorite character in this book. I liked his friends who I am hoping will have their own books, but I loved Finn best. 

Cannot wait for the next book Blurred, as I know it will be as great as Inbetween. I hope everyone can check out a copy of this book and read Tara’s awesome writing and find out about the Inbetween and the forbidden love that happened there.

Favorite Quote:
He kissed me.

I froze when his warm, solid lips pressed against mine. This...this couldn't be happening. Finn was kissing me, really kissing me. My lips parted in surprise, my neck stinging, but the pain was worth it. He moaned against my mouth, and the sound ran through my body like fire in gasoline. One of his hands slid down my jaw, cradling my face to deepen the kiss.


About the Author:
Tara Fuller writes books for teens. Some about witches. Some about grim reapers. All about kissing. Check out her upcoming YA novels INBETWEEN (Entangled Publishing) August of 2012 and PERIGEE MOON (Crescent Moon Press) January of 2012.

To Contact:
Website/ Blog, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #16

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by Breaking the Spine to show upcoming releases we're excited about. This weeks book is:

Frigid by J. Lynn

Synopsis:
For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn't anything new. They'd been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the 'man' in man-whore. He's never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn't want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she's perfect and she's everything. But the feelings he has for her, he's always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they're stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor'easter, there's nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.
 

Why I'm Waiting:
It's J. Lynn/ Jennifer L. Armentrout....enough said!!  

What are you waiting on this week? 

J. Lynn Cover Reveal!!!

Hey everyone so do you remember these?


Yummy.....

I remember those, I mean how could I forget?

So how about a cover reveal?

For J. Lynn's upcoming New Adult novel 

Frigid






*Gasp* Oooh aaah!!!




Frigid will be available in digital formats on July 30th 2013
Print release of Frigid will be November 5th 2012
Goodreads


J. Lynn, also known as Jennifer L. Armentrout, is a # 1 New York Times and USA Today Bestselling
author. She lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t
true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really
bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russel Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing
short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal,
science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press,
Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.

She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled
Brazen and HarperCollins.

Twitter
Facebook
Website


Also if you missed out on some of the awesome teasers and sexy photos you can check them ALL out on Deity Island!

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Teaser Tuesday #17

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by the blog Should Be Reading. How to do it:


  • Grab your current read

  • Flip to a random page, and share a random teaser(s) from the book that aren't too spoiler-y
This weeks teaser comes from:

Untraceable (The Nature of Grace #1) by S.R. Johannes
My Teaser:
T1: "The cute guy I saw by the river stands only a few feet away, pointing a gun at my attackers. He does a once-over and frowns. "Bloody hell, are you all right?"

T2: ""Me?" 
The guy nods. "Unless you see any other damsels in distress around?"" 

Those are my teasers this week, what are yours?

Monday, March 25, 2013

Blog Tour: Edge of the Falls Review

Book Info:
Edition: ebook 
Pages: 300
Published by: Andrews-Hale 
Release date: March 12th 2013 
Genre: New Adult, Dystopian, Romance
Synopsis:
Sabah always knew where she belonged—with Berg—and what was expected of her—to care for the other children the Mistress took in.

But when a ban-wolf saves her life, things begin to change.

Arjun isn’t like the other ban-wolves, the savage creatures that are barely human. He’s gentle and furious and as Sabah spends time with him, she can’t seem to get him out of her mind. But in a world of darkness, control, and danger, is there a place for two outcasts?

A romantic retelling of Beauty and the Beast in a dark dystopia.
  
My Review:

I received a copy for an honest review.

It took me a while to write this review so here it goes. I loved this book. This book is absolutely phenomenal in every way. The story line was unique, the characters were perfect, the danger terrifying. Everything was so unique and well written this book has made it onto my favorite book list.

Sabah since she can remember has lived with Berg and the Mistress as an Exile. Sabah has always had Berg, the boy she has come to love and know since they found each other in the woods so long ago. She also takes care of the Mistress's house and the children in it. Training them to find a rare plant, teaching them how to be proper, as a mother would.

However, everything is changing around her. Sabah knows the Mistress is keeping secrets, after all why would she want a plant so badly as to risk the health and well-being of the children she worked so hard to save and keep? Soon Sabah realizes that she may not have Berg after all as he begins to show more and more favor for their Mistress. She also wants nothing to do with raising the children to die and risk their lives.

When one day Sabah goes to spend time alone and almost falls to her death she is saved by a ban-wolf a creature that she was told to fear. After being saved by the ban –wolf with white hair he’s all se can think about. After countless meetings together and realizing they are more alike than she would have ever thought Arjun the ban-wolf becomes the only part of Sabah’s life that makes sense.

During one of their nightly encounters Arjun and Sabah get into an argument, leaving Sabah alone with the fear he would never return she races after him into the dark woods where genetically altered creatures lurk behind every tree, and rock. When Sabah nearly dies in her search for Arjun she is saved by a pack of ban-wolves.

Now after being saved by the ban-wolf pack she realizes she must go back to try and find what it is that the Mistress has been working on all these years. For it could be the key to the ban-wolfs freedom from the curse that has been put upon them, but also the key to Sabah’s doom.

The only problem with leaving is she has grown to love being around the ban-wolf clan and finds herself deeply in love with Arjun the beast to her beauty.
Like I said at the beginning I loved this book. I think it’s absolutely amazing and wonderful in every way. I have never read a better retelling of Beauty and the Beast. This novel is perfect and I cannot wait for the second novel. The writing in this novel is superlative the characters amazing. I loved Arjun and Sabah’s relationship and even them as characters. Arjun is a complete loving gentleman who can turn into a fierce and protective beast at any second. Sabah is strong, loyal, and will do anything and everything to find protect the ones she loves.

I believe everyone should read this book. I completely loved it and I know I will be reading this book over and over again for a long time!!


Read Chapter 1--> HERE!


About the Author:
Nazarea Andrews is an avid reader and tends to write the stories she wants to read. She loves chocolate and coffee almost as much as she loves books, but not quite as much as she loves her kids. She lives in south Georgia with her husband, daughters, and overgrown dog.


I add all the books I read--I'm a little obsessive. I don't, however, rate or review all of them. I love talking about books, so feel free to say hi! :) 


To Contact: Website/Blog/ GoodreadsTwitters/ Facebook
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...