Thursday, April 18, 2013

Review: The Witch of Greenwich Village


Book Info:
Edition: Kindle 
Pages: 263
Published by Port Town Publishing
Release Date:  April 28th 2004
Genre: Fiction
Author: Frank O'Donnell

Book Description:(goodreads)
Evil gets a makeover in The Witch of Greenwich Village in which romance is married to the occult and the union is spiced with mystery, suspense and sex. The book is squarely in the tradition of Rosemary’s Baby, The Exorcist, The Other, The Sixth Sense and other genre straddling works. 
My Review:

 I received a copy of this book for an honest review.

Art Chessman is a world famous writer whose best-selling books are seen as far out and imaginative. Art works day in and day out staring at his computer or meditating. When Art gets a call from a reporter telling him he could be sued for plagiarism and espionage. Finally relenting to an interview he tries to figure a way out of this.


When Art Chessman agrees to an interview with her over her findings, Molly Greyson is ecstatic. She knows this interview could change her career from mediocre journalist to her dream job, being on television and having her own show one day. When the interview with the world famous author begins, Molly doesn’t know what she’s getting into.

As soon as Art Chessman’s publicist calls Art knows it means nothing but trouble for Molly and him. When Molly agrees to a private dinner party with her against Art’s persistence that she doesn’t he tries to find a way to save her.

Lucille Belzar is everything dark and seductive. When Molly enters the house she immediately knows something’s wrong. Even after Lucille offers Molly anything and everything is the world Molly still feels like something is amiss. When Lucille tries to give her a drink of something strange Art saves the day by breaking the glass and escorting her out of there.

After the incident at the dinner party Art knows he has to come clean to save Molly, even if she won’t believe him. When he tells her his story he knows she doesn’t truly believe him. When Lucille continues calling and giving her odd clues on how to obtain her fame she’s becoming more and more convinced that Lucille might not be who she says she is.

When disaster strikes both Art and Molly for getting too close, they formalize a plan to get back at Lucille for everything they’ve both lost.

Overall, I felt the story while interesting and way different than anything I’ve ever read was still predictable. I figured out what was going to happen a few pages in and it happened almost exactly as I thought. Never the less the writing was amazing, and the character and story line were well written. I hope to see more from Frank O’Donnell and I hope some people go check out his book.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...