Monday, December 31, 2012

Favorites of 2012

A lot has happened this year. I have discovered so many amazing books and all around it's been a great year. I created my blog, I got actual review requests, I went to my first RT Booklovers Convention when it came to Chicago, I won the YA Scavenger Hunt Blue Team, I've won a couple giveaways, and I got actual followers which is amazing! I want to share a bunch of the book stuff I've learned this year!

Favorite Books of 2012


 Series That Ended In 2012:




Books I Discovered In 2012:




Review Requests & Blog Tours:





I have to say 2012 has been a great year. I hope everyone also had a great year as well and I am looking forward to seeing you all in 2013! I am hoping to change up the blog a little in the upcoming year so make sure to look out for that!

P.S.: To all those authors that have sent me their books and have either received a review of haven't thank you so so much for sending them to me. You all have a special place in my heart forever.

To those who have followed or even checked out my blog this year, I always want to give you all a thank you! You all are amazing and I love all of you!! I hope you all of a great New Year and an even better 2013!!! 

Sunday, December 30, 2012

Review Opal (Lux #3)

The JLA Reading Challenge hosted by Deity Island.

Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Book Info:
Paperback 
382 pages
Published by Entangled Teen
Released Date: December 11th 2012
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Science Fiction, Supernatural.

Synopsis:
No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well... There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger... and they know it.

My Review:
Holy freaking goodness. To say that I was ecstatic that Opal was released early was an understatement. However, it took me until a few days ago to finally get to read it. Needless to say the waiting time between reading Opal and not reading Opal was extremely painful because I was dying to devour this book, which is exactly what I did.

Opal pretty much starts out where Onyx ended, not exactly where but pretty close. Katy wakes up from a dream to find Dawson in her room. They seem more or less to be getting along, but Dawson is not the same hottie alien we met in Shadows and Katy can't help but wonder who he used to be. Dawson is haunted by what he had went through after the D.O.D. captured him, and is determined to find a way to save Bethany, his true love and the girl he made into a hybrid. 

A lot of Opal was Daemon, Katy, and everyone dealing with the aftermath of Adams death and Blake's betrayal. Dawson and Daemon are constantly at a stand off when Dawson continuously tries to go off and save Bethany form the D.O.D. which Daemon keeps trying to forbid. One night while the brothers are fighting Katy finds them and offers Dawson a deal: she'll try to find a way to save Bethany if he stops trying to run away. The deal seems to work, but it's all but impossible to accomplish. That is until an old enemy comes back and offers a deal of his own: help him get his friend from the D.O.D. along with Bethany, or he'll turn Katy and Daemon into the D.O.D.
 
Needless to say they deal with the devil so to speak. Not all is horrible though. Daemon and Katy continue to find time for one another, going on dates, spending time with Dawson watching movies, training together. Of coarse they argue at times too, because it wouldn't be the same without some of their bickering. Katy and Dee are also having a lot of problems as well and Dee has changed a lot as a character and it made me sad. Andrew and Ash are also in this book a lot more than they were in the other two novels.

This novel is so different I think than the other two novels. Katy while still the book and blog loving nerd I fell in love with, she has changed in major ways. She worries a lot more about what her continuously being in the world where she will always be in danger is turning her into. The only thing that hasn't changed much? Her feelings for Daemon, they are even closer than they used to be, and even with all the looming danger and the constant worry that tomorrow will never come for them they still find time for each other. Have to say I was happy to see the change in Daemon as a character and can not wait to read the next books with both Katy's and Daemon's POV'S.

Overall, Opal is amazing although not my favorite. I wasn't sure what to expect with the third Lux book but I felt a tad disappointed that it was so predictable to me. The ending made up for the bit of dullness in the novel, because that ending...there are just no words. Needless to say Katy's life freaking sucks. I mean seriously if you've read any of the novels and have read Opal you know what I mean. The girl can not catch a freaking break. Great novel with little action which I thought was alright with this novel. Loved it and can not wait until Origin is going to be released. To say the Jen has done it again would be a complete understatement!


About the Author:
USA TODAY Bestselling author, Jennifer L. Armentrout, lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She also writes adult romance under the name J. Lynn.
Find Jennifer on: Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Website | Blog

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Stacking the Shelves #17

Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews and is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

So I haven't done this in forever it feels like, but since I have gotten so many books lately I figured I would share what I have been stacking my shelves with. I recently won the YA Scavenger Hunts Blue Team Prize which is 24 free signed books. I also won a copy of Deity from the JLA Reading Challenge hosted by Deity Island. Plus the holidays just passed and I have lots to share.

YA Scavenger Hunt books I've gotten so far:





 Books I Got for Christmas:

 
Won from the JLA Challenge:

E-Books:

All books:
 What are you stacking your shelves with?

Friday, December 28, 2012

Feature & Follow #14

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers — but you have to know — the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me, promise!

Q: What book do you think everyone should read? If you could gift the entire population with one book, which would it be?

I would totally have to say The Host by Stephanie Meyer. It's my all time favorite book and deals a lot about love and all that jazz. I love how the book talks about the complexity of human emotions and just how far people are willing to go for the ones they love. 



Either that book or:



 North of Beautiful. I totally love this book as well since it deals with finding your "true north" or true self as I took that to mean in the book. I guess since I have always had self esteem problems and have dealt with different types of abuse much like the main character in this book I really related and I think this book is for anyone. Romantic, non- romantic. Just all around greatness.







So, what one book would you gift to the world? 

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Swoon Thursday #9

Swoon Thursday is a weekly blog posting hosted by YA Bound
How to do it:

From the book you are currently reading from or just finished. Then state which part of the book made you swoon. What got your heart pounding, your skin tingling, and your stomach fluttering. 

Shout it out on Twitter with the hashtag #YABound, post it here in the comments, or grab the adorable button above and share it on your blog! We want to know.
This weeks swoon worth moment comes from the book: 

Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

"His lips formed a wicked smile. "True. So let's say we have twenty minutes, give or take." He stopped in front of me, his eyes hooded. "Not nearly enough time for what I'd like to do, but we can work around that."
Heat swept through my veins, and I felt dizzy again. "We can?"
"Mmm-hmm." He placed his hands on my shoulders and pressed down until I was sitting on the very edge of the bed. Running his hands to my cheeks, he knelt between my boneless legs so that we wre eye level with each other.
Daemon's lashes lowered, fanning his cheeks. "I've missed you.""

Oh Daemon you are too amazing for words! Every page with him in it is swoon worthy is it not? 

What made you swoon this week?

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Review: Dragon Night

Dragon Night by Stephanie Campbell
Book Info:
ebook
Published by Musa Publishing  
Released: November 17th 2011
Word Count: 75000
Author: Stephanie Campbell 
Link to book: HERE 
Synopsis:
The only thing more shocking than discovering that dragons really exist is finding out that you are one.

Ever since he could remember, Ford was treated cruelly by his parents, Liddy and Wicker Forks. He cannot figure out why they hate him so much. It is only when he discovers that his father isn’t really Wicker Forks but instead is a mysterious, red-eyed stranger that he goes on a quest to find his true identity—and much, much more.

As he heads forward down the path of danger and illusion, he uncovers a world that he had never imagined, a world of dragons. Ford must decide who he is—a dragon or a boy—and whichever path he chooses will be his future for forever. After all, once you are a dragon, there is no going back.
My Review:
I received a copy of Dragon Night for an honest review.
Ford Forks life has never been filled with love. He's lived his life working at his fathers' pancake house which he has dubbed the Mother Ship for it's out of this world atmosphere. He hated by his family for an unknown reason to him, his schoolmates ignore his presence, and he only has one friend. 
One day during his mad dash to class he becomes incredibly ill and is sent home. Next thing he knows he's becoming sicker and sicker as time goes by. Having huge waves of pain as if he were boiling from the inside out, huge rashes, welts, and sores also begin appearing on his skin and he has no one to turn to. After a bad episode at the pancake house he is taken to the hospital and is told a truth that changes his life forever.
Oh a journey to discover the truth he discovers a world where dragons exist and he is the offspring of such union, a draconic. However, it becomes apparent to the dragon world that Ford is different. As truths are revealed, Ford must decide to help start and finish the war between the cruel dragons who have ruled over the draconic for ages, or simply walk away back to his old life.
Overall a great novel. I felt this was a novel that truly moved me. The characters were amazing and relateable, there was tons of action, and overall great writing. Dragon Night is a book for all ages. I truly enjoyed this book and I hope you all pick up your copy and read it too. Honestly I have a warm place in my heart for dragons and I loved the spin that Stephanie Campbell put on them
Rating: 4.5

Monday, December 24, 2012

Review: Secrets Vol. 5

Secrets Vol. 5 (Secrets #5) by H.M. Ward
Book Info:
Kindle Edition
Published by Laree Bailey Press 
Released on December 21, 2012
Amazon.com
Synopsis:
 The pounding in Anna's heart rings in her ears as she sits naked in the tub. The bath water sloshes around her bare hips, even though she tries to stand without making a sound. All this time, Anna thought someone was following her, but every time she turned around no one was there. The chills that climbed up her spine those few times seemed silly, but not now. Now, they seem horrific.

Cole is gone, Emma is at work, and Anna is completely alone. A shadow darkens the space under the door. The metallic clink of a hand touching the knob sends Anna out of her mind. Pulse pounding in her ears, Anna has no other option, but to open the bathroom door and come face to face with her stalker.

Volume 5 is the final book in the bestselling SECRETS series.
My Review:
Holy freaking crap!!! Secrets Vol. 5 is all things amazing. I could not put this amazing novel down for a second. The entire Secrets series is just completely compelling and just amazing. H.M.Ward just has a way with words, characters, and just writing in a way that will leave you guessing until the very end. She writes in a way that has your emotions pulling every which way just like the characters. There is no way to not fall madly in love with Secrets. 

Secrets Vol. 5 starts right off from where Secrets Vol. 4 left off. Anna is freaking out after she sees a creepy shadow outside her door. Suddenly she starts hearing scratching on the door and begins to freak. Finally opening the door she reveals the perpetrator, or did she? Reaching her room she finds that this are a miss and begins to panic. Calling Edwards she asks him to stay and watch Em while she goes and stays at Cole's. After a little while however, Anna confesses what's been going on to Cole and he vows to protect her. However, Anna continues to feel impending doom like a gray cloud hovering over her head as the days go on, and soon she is confronted by what she feared most of all.

When we finally find out what those creepy feelings that Anna is always feeling are about. A lot of messed up stuff happens and let me just tell you when all was revealed this was my reaction: "I FREAKING KNEW IT!!! OH MY GOODNESS I FREAKING KNEW IT!!! WAIT WHAT WHAT WHAT!?!?!?! NOOOOOOOOO!!!! OH HOLY TOAST ON BREAD NO FREAKING WAY!!" I know pretty dramatic stuff but for those who have followed Anna and Cole's story when they read Secrets Vol. 5 will know what I'm talking about. I was freaking the bleep out.

Anna and Cole's relationship is a lot different in this novel. Where before they had a bunch of sexual tension, their relationship is filled with a passion of different sorts as they reveal more and more of their pasts and emotions to each other. Even as their worlds seem to fall apart they stand together. I have to say their relationship is admirable since from the beginning things had been overly complicated. Cole in this novel is a lot funnier and open as a character in this novel, while Anna is a lot more emotional. This novel proved so much more why they so perfect for each other.

Overall, Secrets Vol. 5 is a great conclusion to an even greater series. I am so sad that this amazing series has ended and will deeply miss hearing about Anna and Cole. All the characters in the Secrets Series hold a special place in my heart and I know when I miss them most I will be picking up my kindle to read about their story all over again.
Favorite Quote: I so recognized with this quote.
“At one time, I thought love was so devastating when it was over, that it wasn’t worth the risk. I don’t think that anymore. I think love’s worth chancing the agony that things may go wrong. Besides, I don’t want to live like that, always wondering what I could have had, if we would have been happy. I’ve done that. It’s a lonely life, Anna. “There are only a few things I’m certain of. I have here and now. I have today. I had thought that there were no promises in this life, nothing to grab hold of—I used to think that nothing was forever, Anna. But this, me and you, it’s worth the risk. You’re already part of me, and it’s not that I can’t let you go, it’s that I don’t want to. I love you, Anna. You’re worth the risk.”


SECRETS VOL. 5 IS ON SALE NOW AT THESE RETAILERS:
   Amazon           Kobo          iPad/Other
Nook & iTunes will be available soon - if you can't wait, you can order a nook copy via Smashwords. 

Sunday, December 23, 2012

Author Appreciation Giveaway: Jennifer L. Armentrout

AuthorAppreciation

Hiya everyone if you don't know I do these blog postings once a month to showcase different authors I have come to love and appreciate beyond belief. These blog postings are called Author Appreciations. I decided a while back I was going to do giveaways every couple months to go along with my appreciation for them. This weeks it: Jennifer L. Armentrout

This giveaway will go from December 23rd- December 30th.
 
Lux Series:
 
 
 
 
Covenant Series:
 
 
 
 
 
 
J. Lynn's books:





















 
 
 
 

Saturday, December 22, 2012

Blog Tour: Review: Someone To Love

Someone to Love by Addison Moore
Genre: New Adult. Intended for mature audiences.



Someone to Love . A fun holiday read that's far more naughty than it ever is nice.

Blurb:
Someone to Love
What happens when two people who don’t believe in love happen to fall madly, deeply into the most beautiful relationship they could ever imagine? A train wreck.
Twenty-year old Kendall Jordan devises a seat of the pants plan to “play the player.”
When Kendall spots gorgeous Cruise Elton from across the room, something in her burns to have him. There’s only one problem; Cruise likes the ladies, a lot, and Kendall has never shared so much as a decent kiss with a guy.
Kendall has long since come to discover that love is an illusion that never lasts and Cruise couldn’t agree more. So when Kendall proposes that Cruise tutor her in becoming a female version of himself, Garrison Universities own manwhore, he’s more than happy to comply.
But when real feelings begin to emerge, and neither Kendall nor Cruise know how to classify them, everything they once thought they knew is redefined as they discover in one another, Someone to Love.
 My Review:

Holy toast!! to say Someone to Love is phenomenal would be an understatement. This novel took me by complete surprise and I could not put this book down until I passed out only to start back up reading it when I woke up.


Kendall Jordan meets Cruise at a party after a days flight to her new home at Garrison University. After shooting him down for a one night stand she finds she has no place to live. Cruise finding Kenny the most appealing woman he has ever seen takes her in, much to Kendall's surprise. Kendall can't believe she going to be rooming with a sex god while she's holding on to her virginity. Together they believe that their is no such thing as love and that since there is no love there might as well be sex. 

Kendall makes Cruise a proposition, to teach her his man whore ways with him playing role as teacher. Although they both know they're treading on thin ice because their "No Love" rule seems to be rushing out the window with each passing lesson.

In the end will Kendall become the ultimate female version of Cruise? Or will the love they both feared for so long find it's way into the hearts of the two non believers? 

Oh my goodness, loved this book from the very beginning. I could not put this book down, it had me laughing, crying, and in the end satisfied that the ending was realistic and so completely amazing. I loved both the characters as was so happy Someone to Love had both Cruise's and Kendall's point of views. So great and I hope you all pick up copies of this book as soon as possible!!!

Rating 4.5
Author Bio:
Addison Moore is the author of young adult fiction and romance. She has worked as therapist on a locked psychiatric unit for almost a decade. She is the mother of four wonderful children. She resides on the West Coast with her family and two dogs where she eats too much chocolate and stays up way too late. When she's not writing, she's reading.

 

Friday, December 21, 2012

Review: The Girl Who Remembered Horses

The Girl Who Remembered Horses by
Linda Benson
Book Info:
Paperback-Limited Edition - Promotional Print Version, 236 pages
Published on July 15th 2012
Published by Musa Publishing
Word Count: 55000
Author: Linda Benson
Link to Book

Synopsis:(goodreads)
Sahara travels with her clan in a future, barren environment where recyclables are bartered for sustenance, and few remember horses or their connection to humans. But Sahara has recurring visions of riding astride on magnificent animals that run like the wind.

With the help of Evan, a young herder from the Gardener's Camp, Sahara discovers a valuable book and learns her visions are real. But will the hot-headed hunter Dojo kill the horses before she can persuade her clan of their usefulness? Will Sahara give up her quest to save them after she is labeled a foolish dreamer?

Following horse tracks up a remote ravine, Sahara discovers a gruesome scene, as well as a helpless baby horse. Now Sahara must use her wits and inborn knowledge to raise the young animal, finally convince her clan of the ancient bond between horses and humans, and discover the secret of her true identity.

My Review: 
 I received a copy of this book for a honest review.

Sahara and her clan live in a time after the Dark Days, where technology is no more and horses are all but forgotten. Sahara lives with her sister Laurel who is the main provider for their family after their parents died due to a flu epidemic, and their grandfather. Together they travel as a group around trying to find supplies to trade such as shoes. Sahara known as the dreamer of the family is amazing with animals and at night dreams of strange animals that run like the wind through the desert.

One night when the camp is on their way to the Gardener's Camp Sahara and her clan spot them, the beautiful beasts in her dreams; horses. She instantly feels a kinship towards them and vows to protect them no matter the cost. This vow does not come without difficulty as Dojo the most skilled and arrogant hunter in the clan vows to catch and kill on for meat. Asking around the Gardener Camps Sahara and Dojo both go looking for answers about the strange beasts known as horses. Over time Sahara and her old friend Evan find answers about how horses and people used to work together as one. One night Sahara's chance comes and she must face her fears in order to save the giant creatures she has come to love from afar. This task and love for the beautiful creatures does not come without many costs and many times Sahara wonders what is too much to give.

Honestly, The Girl Who Remembered Horses is a great novel. Once I was able to pick it up, I could not put it down. Sahara's story is a great one and I took to liking her as a character right away. She is realistic and not without flaws. I thought this story was awe inspiring and have definitely added this book to my list of to-reads for another time. All the characters were so well written as well as the rest of the story with an amazing ending that leaves much open, but not too much! I think The Girl Who Remembered Horses is very much about how you can do anything if you believe in yourself no matter what everyone else says.
Rating: 4.5

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Review: Wither (The Chemical Garden #1)

Wither (The Chemical Garden #1) by 
Lauren DeStefano
Book Info:
Hardcover 
358 pages
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 
Released: March 22nd 2011
Genre: YA, Science Fiction. Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy, Post-Apocalypse

Synopsis:
By age sixteen, Rhine Ellery has four years left to live. She can thank modern science for this genetic time bomb. A botched effort to create a perfect race has left all males with a lifespan of 25 years, and females with a lifespan of 20 years. Geneticists are seeking a miracle antidote to restore the human race, desperate orphans crowd the population, crime and poverty have skyrocketed, and young girls are being kidnapped and sold as polygamous brides to bear more children. When Rhine is kidnapped and sold as a bride, she vows to do all she can to escape. Her husband, Linden, is hopelessly in love with her, and Rhine can’t bring herself to hate him as much as she’d like to. He opens her to a magical world of wealth and illusion she never thought existed, and it almost makes it possible to ignore the clock ticking away her short life. But Rhine quickly learns that not everything in her new husband’s strange world is what it seems. Her father-in-law, an eccentric doctor bent on finding the antidote, is hoarding corpses in the basement. Her fellow sister wives are to be trusted one day and feared the next, and Rhine is desperate to communicate to her twin brother that she is safe and alive. Will Rhine be able to escape--before her time runs out?

Together with one of Linden's servants, Gabriel, Rhine attempts to escape just before her seventeenth birthday. But in a world that continues to spiral into anarchy, is there any hope for freedom?
My Review:
I'm not sure where to even start with this review. I got this book from a friend and I fell in love with the cover. Then after reading the synopsis I was intrigued and immediately had to know what was going on.

The main character Rhine Ellery lives in a world where her years are limited. Living with her brother in New York City in their family house they once lived in with their family they are constantly in danger. Children trying to find a warm place to stay or the Gatherers who steal females from their home to either kill or sell them to men. When Rhine is taken she is one of the "lucky" who were chosen. Together Rhine and two other brides; Cecily and Jenna try to survive in their new surroundings where not everything is as it seems.

Upon arriving at her knew home Rhine meets Lady Rose the woman she is replacing. Rose teaches Rhine many things about her new husband Linden. But Rhine doesn't want to learn about her husband, for all Rhine thinks about is getting back home to her brother. Along the way Rhine meets Gabriel a servant boy that makes her stomach flutter, brings her food, and whom she feels safe to voice her life to. She also finds companionship in her sister-wives who keep her company, and help pass the time. While one sister wife is extremely difficult, the other shares the same hate for their surroundings and the people in it as Rhine. However, Rhine's trust in the sister wives is not without it's own troubles, for one would do anything to keep Rhine from achieving everything she has fought so hard to achieve.

Rhine soon after arriving becomes first wife, giving her certain benefits they other two wives do not have. Rhine is able to leave with her husband in tow to go to the many benefits her husband needs to attend. Rhine taking this new status in stride sees these outings as a way to send a message to her brother, a message that she is still alive. Everything in Rhine's life is a risk though, and soon she must escape or else their will be no escape.

Overall I really enjoyed and sped right through this book. Although there was a lot of inner dialogue and description I honestly didn't mind all that much even though it's one of my biggest pet peeves. I really enjoyed reading about Rhine's world and was always wondering what was going to happen next. I can't wait to read the next book. 
Rating: 4.5

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Gargoyle Blog Tour

Gargoyle by Shelley Martin
Gargoyle Blurb:
Elizabeth's secrets will kill her, but the devotion of a gargoyle can save her.

In 1894, seventeen year old Elizabeth Riemma pulls the clothes from her dead twin's body and assumes his identity. To avoid her murderous uncle, she attends her brother’s school on Marettimo Island, which is forbidden to women. Elizabeth takes solace in sculpting and one night, she awakens her gargoyle.

    Gorgeous and fiercely loyal, Aelius uses his abilities to aid Elizabeth in keeping her secret. He only asks one thing in return- a kiss.  As Elizabeth learns confidence from her creation, suspicions rise and the island’s bloody history threaten to bury them.    

    Elizabeth must hide her gender. Aelius must hide his existence.  But both of them dream of the impossible- to be together. 

My Review:
  Gargoyle is a must read. I honestly could not put this amazing story down.

Elizabeta Riemma lives in the year 1891 at a school for boys. She's been living as her twin brother for the past couple years lonely, afraid, and picked on. Elizabeta or Erro being small in size is bullied around most of the day at school. Being stuffed into places, art works destroyed, and things constantly being thrown at her for being small and not taking showers with the other boys.

One day while Elizabeta is finishing up her sculpting of the gargoyle on top of her building she kisses the gargoyle expecting cold hard marble. Instead she gets the shock of her life when she feels flesh against flesh. The gargoyle Aelius tells her that her kiss has awakened him from his slumber and that she is his Master and he is hers to serve for as long as she lives. However, every time she asks for something she must repay him, with a kiss.

After a couple months of getting used to Aelius she begins to feel more and more comfortable and happier than she ever remembered feeling since her families untimely death. Too bad it seems happiness never seems to stay long for the man she has been running away from has sent word that Erro is actually dead and his sister is pretending to be him. Afraid what will happen if she gets caught she is forced to ask Aelius to mold her into a boy. Aelius complies and she is a boy by day and girl by night, just as Aelius is sculpture by day and man by night.

Soon Elizabeta finds herself drawn to Aelius her gargoyle guardian. Soon though as always danger finds them both and they will do anything to keep each other safe. But the long deadly history of the gargoyles may prevent them from ever being able to do what they truly want; to be together.

Elizabeta was an amazing character to read. She was easily relatable, especially when she was feeling all flustered when she was around Aelius. Elizabeta had a lot to learn about herself throughout the novel and I liked that she wasn't perfect. She also liked scheming a lot which was awesome, one of the best scenes in the book!
Aelius was hot is every sense of the word. He had the perfect body and was quite humorous himself at times, even though I don't think he meant to be. He had a great sense of justice when it came to protecting Elizabeta and bringing justice to those who would seek to harm her. The honestly made a perfect couple!

Overall, Gargoyle is an amazing read. It is extremely original like none I've ever read. The lengths Elizabeta and Aelius were willing to go through to be together was amazing. They both grew as characters throughout the book which was awesome. There was always something going on in the story and I was always left guessing what would happen next. I hope you pick up a copy of this amazing book ASAP!

Favorite Quote:
“My uncle started that little lie. It’s amazing you believed him.”
“Oh, I didn’t believe him. The Headmaster ordered me, and your other teachers,
to keep an eye out for definitive proof. And now we have it, and this whole stupid thing is
over. That’s all.”
“I hope so, Mr. Chevalier. Because, if you wanted to see something other than
what I possess, I’d say you need to leave this island immediately and find yourself a wife.”
Did I really just say that?! First I fall on him, crack his skull a good one, now I’m
insulting him? What’s wrong with me?
He burst out laughing. He bent forward and slapped the water. “That’s more like
it, Erro. That’s the spirit! Why aren’t you like that with the boys in class?”
My brow drew together. I insult him, and he thinks it’s funny? There’s a lot more I
need to learn about men, it seems.

 Rating: 4.5
Interview with Shelley Martin!! Yay!!!
 Thank you so much for having me. I’m excited to be here and can’t wait to dig into these
questions.

1. What made you decide to write about gargoyles? I mean they aren't exactly main stream so what made you decide to break the mold?

Actually it started out as a contest entry for a writer’s convention. There were two titles to choose from and I went for the more difficult “The Silent Roar.” But I couldn’t think of anything to write. I finally presented the problem to one of my friends and she said when she hear the title she thought of a statue screaming. I immediately picked up a gargoyle and ran with it. I went home with an award and everyone in my writer’s group encouraged me to turn it into a novel.

2. Was there any truth to the story of Marettimo island?

No. *smiles* It is a real place though. I looked at a map and picked an island the farthest from Sicily, the most isolated one. When I did the Google map zoom later I saw that the whole island is mostly just a rugged mountain wreathed by beautiful sandy beaches. The only inhabitants live on the beach, and there are very few of them.

3. Who was your favorite character to write?

Oh, Aelius by far! I crush on him J I was determined my cover artist got him right, so I sketched him first, and wow did the artist Grant Griffard deliver!

4. When did you first decide you wanted to become an author?

I’ve been writing since I was 10. It’s just something I did. But I really decided I wanted to pursue it as a career when I was 14. I was in English class and the boy in front of me nabbed my notebook and started reading the story I was working on. Mortified, I kept asking him to give it back. He ignored me. By the time he finally tossed it back over his shoulder he said I wrote better than the junk they forced us to read in high school. That one comment pushed me to take a hobby seriously.

5. How long did it take you to write Gargoyle?

Once I finished the short it took me six months for the first draft. But it was only aiming for a novella at the time. A few people made some suggestions and ignited my imagination farther. I kept writing until it reached novel length.

6. Do you plan on writing more on the story of Elizabeta and Aelius?

I’m currently writing the second in the series, planning on four or five total.

7. Does the name Aelius mean anything?

I love Latin names. And since the story takes place around Sicily and Italy I thought a Roman name would be appropriate. The name Aelius originated from a Roman Emperor, Lucius Aelius, who was adopted into the Cesar’s family and deemed heir to the throne. I thought it sounded so fairytale-ish.

8. What made you decide to change Elizabeta the way you did at the end?


The short story originally had a tragic ending, which I knew had to change. The story was a romance, and romance always has a happy ending. I’m not sure how it happened, but I was thrilled how both Elizabeta and Aelius had “changing” abilities in the end. I just wrote, aiming for a happy ending, and they figured it out for themselves.

9. What was your favorite scene or scenes to write?


Oh, the bath house scene, by far! I laughed and giggled the entire time I wrote that chapter. I finished it in two days. I mean seeing one’s hot teacher in the buff is face-scalding enough, but what happened between Elizabeta and Mr. Chevalier … I don’t think I could have thought clearly for days after that incident!

10. Did you listen to certain songs while you wrote certain scenes? If so what were they?

I always listen to music when writing. It’s like fuel for my imagination. The first couple are haunting tunes from anime, and the rest are mainstream that were favorites on my playlist.
  • Lilium by Kumiko Noma (Elfin Lied)
  • Silence by Witch Hunter Robin
  • Fireflies by Owl City
  • Stereo Love by Edward Maya and Viki Jigulina
  • Miss Independent by Ne-Yo
I am so excited to hear there is going to be more to their story!!! Want to find out more about the author?

Author Bio:

Shelley Martin taught kindergarten and rustled cattle; once upon a time.  She’s now a mother and wife, and loves living in North Idaho.  Her imagination has always plagued her, the characters jumping into her head at some random song or thought.  She started writing when she was ten, finishing her first short story when she was eleven.  The paranormal has always fascinated her, and nothing draws her to the page more than the whisperings of fantastical creatures.  

Links:
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6542638.Shelley_Martin
https://twitter.com/ShelleyMartin12
https://www.facebook.com/ShelleyMartinFiction
http://shelleymartinfiction.com/

Rafflecopter Giveaway Code:

Link to Giveaway!!
Add To Goodreads Code:

Goodreads!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...