Friday, November 30, 2012

Feature & Follow #12

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers — but you have to know — the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.
 
Question this week:
Who is your to-die-for book crush? What do you think they look like? Add an image to make us all happy 8)
 
Answer:
Ian O' Shea from The Host by Stephanie Meyer. I pictured him as more or less a younger version of Chris Hemsworth, and even though they were living in caves full of dirt and unsafe objects I still think Ian is an all around hottie!!
He did the impossible and fell in love with a worm thing...I have to say if he can do that well then how hard could it be to love a book crazed girl who loves pie?  
 
 
Who's your idea for your to-die-for book crush? If you follow me I promise to follow you. Please please please leave a comment or something though so I know! Thank you and Happy Friday!! 

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Swoon Thursday #8

Swoon Thursday is a weekly blog posting hosted by YA Bound
How to do it:

From the book you are currently reading from or just finished. Then state which part of the book made you swoon. What got your heart pounding, your skin tingling, and your stomach fluttering. 

Shout it out on Twitter with the hashtag #YABound, post it here in the comments, or grab the adorable button above and share it on your blog! We want to know.
This weeks swoon worth moment comes from the book: 
 
Deity(Covenant #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 
His hands moved down my arms to my hips. He tugged me forward, and the softest part of me pressed against his hardest. Our mouths didn't touch , but the rest of us did. 
 
What made you swoon this week?

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Jen's Hosting a Opal Giveaway!!

You read that right JLA fans! Jen, being fabulous and all, is hosting a giveaway for THREE of her author copies of Opal. Freaking awesome, right?!
 Aren't they BEAUTIFUL!!! *Sigh*
Whoa!

Better hurry and get your entries in! Fingers crossed!

And don't forget to pre-order your copy of Opal on Amazon or Barnes & Noble today!

Monday, November 26, 2012

Blog Tour: The Secret of Ella and Micha Review

BLURB:

Ella and Micha have been best friends since they were kids. But one tragic night shatters their friendship and their lives forever.

Ella used to be a rule-breaker with fiery attitude who wore her heart on her sleeve. But she left everything behind when she went to college and transformed into someone that follows the rules, keeps everything together, and hides all her problems. But now it's summer break and she has nowhere else to go but home.

Ella fears everything she worked so hard to bury might resurface, especially with Micha living right next door. If Micha tries to tempt the old her back, she knows that it will be hard to resist.

Micha is sexy, smart, confident, and can get under Ella’s skin like no one else can. He knows everything about her, including her darkest secrets. And he’s determined to bring his best friend, and the girl he loves back, no matter what it takes.

My Review:
Who finished this book in one sitting? This chick!! From the first pages of this book I knew I was going to like this book.

This book goes back and forth between Ella's perspective and Micha's perspective. This book is recommended for ages 17+ due to language and sexual situations.

The book starts out on a bridge with our two main characters. Ella has taken some medication and is trying to get through the pain of her mothers death when Micha shows up and makes her come down. That night, she packs up and leaves her home town and Micha without a word. She heads to college to change her life around and to become a new person. Her plan was working, but that was until she had to go home for Summer Break. The home and everything she tried so hard to leave behind, including Micha.

Back at home for the last year Micha has been searching frantically to Ella. After she dropped off the grid he dropped all of his activities and basically everything in his life in his search for her. Now she's home, only she's not. She looks and is pretending to be someone else. Someone who isn't his best friend, and the girl he's been in love with since he was 16.

Ella and Micha both have some insane emotional problems, lots and lots of emotional baggage. Most of the time Ella is struggling with the problems she left behind and trying not to deal with them. Micha on the other hand is trying to bring his best friend back, and that means making her deal with them. There is a crap load of sexual tension in this book too which was freaking sexy:

“I dare a kiss against her shoulder, relishing the softness of her skin, wanting her so God damn bad I’m getting a hard on just thinking about it. Ella notices too and squirms around in my lap, making it worse.”

There a bunch of scenes like that one hehe loved it.

When Ella and Micha finally get together I have to say it's epic, and awesome. Their personalities are so perfect together. When life takes them on separate paths they do their own thing which I really liked. I think the fact that they could move on together without actually being together every second made their love and the story more realistic. That and the fact that even though they finally got together their problems weren't suddenly fixed. They still had problems they had to deal with and I had to admire that.

If you are looking for a quick amazing read I would highly suggest this book. Also there will be more books so be on the look out! 8) Like my review please let me know that also, I love comments!



Author bio:

I live in Wyoming with my husband and three kids, where I spend most of my time writing, reading, and hanging out with my family. I’m the author of the Fallen Star Series, the Darkness Falls Series, and the Death Collectors. I also just branched out to the New Adult Contemporary genre with my book, The Secret of Ella and Micha.

 


LINKS:

Sunday, November 25, 2012

Author Appreciation Giveaway: Kiersten White

Hiya everyone if you don't know I do these blog postings once a month to showcase different authors I have come to love and appreciate beyond belief. These blog postings are called Author Appreciations. I decided a while back I was going to do giveaways every couple months to go along with my appreciation for them. So this month is: Kiersten White
Here's how it'll go: This giveaway will run from November 25th- December 2nd at midnight. In this giveaway if you win you will have the option of picking any one of the three amazing and totally awesome books that Kiersten White has written (e-book only).


Giveaway!!!

Friday, November 23, 2012

Feature and Follow #11

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it’ll allow us to show off more new blogs!

Q: Are you thankful for a fellow blogger?
Tell us about him or her. 

I am thankful for all bloggers out there. I know that sounds corny but honestly I am so appreciative for every single blogger I have been able to connect with and just creeped on their blogs. Watching other blogs really helps me out a lot. I honestly wouldn't have started a blog if it hadn't been for reading and watching other book bloggers so I am so thankful to all of them. Thank you to every single blogger out there, you inspire and are all amazing, I am so thankful and appreciative for everything you do!

Which blogger are you thankful for? Let me know and comment! Also you follow me and I promise to follow you back! 

Giveaway!!!

I did a review of this super amazing book earlier this year! Zeus, Inc. is going on sale for the weekend!! I know I love it when any type of sale is going on so here is the info.
Synopsis:
50 years ago, Zeus, Inc., and its CEO, the mysterious Joseph Brentwood, saved the world from a major energy crisis by discovering a new unlimited energy resource. Now, in 2069, Mr. Brentwood has gone missing and private eye Alex Grosjean has been hired to find him by his daughter (and Alex's best friend), Aleisha.

Black-outs begin to occur all over the world and somehow Alex believes it's tied to Mr. Brentwood's disappearance. Her search leads her through her own murky past and into the fantastical depths of Hell itself, where she discovers that Mr. Brentwood is not who or what he seems to be.

With the help of an otherworldly man named Pip, Alex must save both Mr. Brentwood and the world. But will she be able to face her own guilty past in order to do it?
 
Giveaway:
How would you like to win a $25 gift card for Amazon.com?
That could buy a few books, right? So how can you win? 
Well, it's pretty straightforward:

  1. Purchase your copy of Zeus, Inc. for just 99 cents.
  2. Enter the Rafflecopter Contest below.
Good luck! Winners will be announced Monday. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Normalish Review

Normalish by Margaret Lesh
Book Info:
Published by: Musa Publishing Euterpe Young Adult imprint 
Published on:  October 5th 201
Type: ebook, 175 pages
Get your copy: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or any online store


Synopsis:
Fifteen-year-old Stacy questions the strange world of high school, love, her role in a harsh universe, and life, in Normalish.

People tell you high school's so great and wonderful, but they're lying. It's mostly horrible and full of disappointment. It sucks. Your best friend abandons you. The jerk you're in love with pretends to be into you, and then the big dump. The boy you've really clicked with as a friend decides to go all crushy over you, so you break his heart just like yours was -- smashed into little pieces. Your sister goes mental, and you get involved with a guy who’s even crazier than she is (who you know is a very bad idea, but you do it anyway). Math only adds another stink of failure to the whole thing.

High school blows. Just ask freshman Stacy. She’d want you to know.

My Review:
I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.

Normalish is a story about fifteen-year-old Stacy and her not so normal life. Honestly her life is one of those lives where when you hear about it you're happy it's not yours. Stacy starts out talking about all the things that make her sad in a little mental inventory, she makes them throughout the book.

Stacy goes through a lot of high school angst and it really sucks. Her best friend has left her behind for a new social crowd. Her new best friend is now crushing on her and while she wants to like him she can't, leaving their friendship on the fritz. She ends up making out with her crush and then he breaks her heart. Her sister goes off the deep, and then Stacy starts acting strange herself. Add school and puberty along for the ride and you get Normalish.

During the book Stacy's sister Becca has a mental breakdown in the middle of the school cafeteria and is taken to the mental hospital where she learns to cope and get better. While Stacy is visiting her sister she meets a boy named Bobby. Stacy and Bobby has an instant connection even though Bobby is 18 and in the psych ward. Bobby and Stacy become extremely close until the fates have their way leaving everyone including readers devastated.  

Stacy while she is a bit over the top and selfish sometimes is a very likeable character. She has momentous character growth over the coarse of the book which makes her even more likeable. I feel like even though sometimes while doing something during the book that she later regretted she always took it as a learning experience.

Overall, this book will make your laugh, cry, and contemplate what 'normal' really is. Normalish is extremely well written with just the right amounts of inner dialogue, description and interactions with other characters. I have to say I found this whole story extremely relatable because of what happens to Stacy towards the end of the book, I found myself in a similar situation with the whole friend situation as well. Normalish I feel sums up the whole high school experience and how life and the world works pretty well.  If you have yet to pick up a copy of Normalish I highly suggest you do. It's awesome!!!

Favorite Quote: This quote reminded me a lot of high school
""Hey, guys. Meet my pimple. I'm thinking of naming it soon. I'm thinking of naming it Summer, as a matter of fact."
"Oh, come on. it's nothing," Rose said, completely non-convincingly as she and Bethany looked at each other with eyebrows raised, like, "Whoa, did you see the size of Stacy's zit?""


 Author Info:
 California girl Margaret Lesh lives with her husband Steve and son Andrew in a quiet suburb near Los Angeles. Co-creator of StoryRhyme.com, she writes middle grade, young adult, and women’s fiction. When she’s not writing, she’s thinking about baked goods, especially donuts, far too often. She believes tacos are magic.

To find out more about Maragret and her awesome books please visit her website:
HERE!! 

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Opal Trailer Reveal

Who wants to see the official trailer for Opal? You do? That's funny so do I. 8)
Opal (The third book in the Lux Series)
Available in both print and digital version on December 18, 2012
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Official Opal Book Trailer
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=oLkv3DotkqM


Check out Jennifer L. Armentrout on the following sites: 



What did you think? Awesomesauce right? I know what I'm buying myself for my birthday this year!!!!

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Review: Secrets Vol. 4

Secrets Vol. 4 (Secrets #4) by H.M. Ward
Book info:
Author: H.M. Ward
Title: Secrets Vol. 4 
Kindle Edition
Expected publication: November 20th 2012 by Laree Bailey Press

Synopsis:
At night, when Anna closes her eyes, everything comes rushing back; the sensuous sound of Cole’s voice, his scalding touch, and the way his eyes roved over her body like he could never get enough. Flirtation, promises of passionate sex, and nights filled with Cole’s sexy smile are gone. Anna worries that her crush on Cole was something more, because her life is total agony without him.

Anna realizes she’s at a turning point. Someone burned her. This isn’t a little blister that would go away on its own, it’s an inferno that destroyed everything it touched. In a matter of minutes, Anna lost her future and the man who holds her heart.

Anna has to decide how and when to get even with the person who destroyed her life—Sophia Sottero.
 

My Review:

I received an ARC of Secrets for a honest review! Happy dance for the ARC from H.M. Ward I am so so so happy and excited I got one! Yay me!!!

Holy bleeeep!!!! Ah so I honestly have no and so many words for this book. Ah!!! So freaking awesome!!! And that ending....Alright let me start with the beginning and not the end.

Secrets Vol. 4 picks up right where vol. 3 left off. Anna is at the beach with Cole and starts to leave heart broken and angry. Getting on her bike it the pouring rain she takes off and then gets into an accident her bike skidding and dragging Anna with it. Cole helping her up and starts to argue with her. Anna upset, in pain tells him off and then takes off towards her parents.

When reaching her parents she gets cleaned up she explains what happened and then Anna and her father have an epic talk. I was honestly blown away by this talk it was so inspirational I was feeling a little pumped up myself:

“The ones we love are worth fighting for. Me and you are fighters, Anna. We don’t let things slip between our fingers, unless we want them to.”

After Anna's talk with her parents Anna goes home the next day with a game plan. I have to say I loved what she did next hehe not going to tell what it is but it is EPIC and completely and totally awesomesauce! No lie, when I was reading it I was laughing so hysterically. Hehe so funny. Anway after the epicness Anna is served a court order that she has to show up for the Sottero vs. Stevens case. From there Anna starts taking control of her life, trying to figure out what she wants to do next for her career and her love life. Trying to move on with Jesse is not going as planned and Cole keeps showing up even though Anna wants to move on all her thoughts revolve around one single thought: Cole.

However there is creepiness. Anna is being followed. She has continuous feelings of being watched in her room while she's changing, even while she's out at night going for a walk. She begins to become paranoid and then at the end the stalker person I think was about to reveal themselves when the book cut off. Let me tell you if my mother was not in the house profanities to the 100th degree would have been spewing from my mouth at that point!! I was so like "who is it who it is who it is!?!?!" and then the book ended! What The Heck H.M. Ward!!! Seriously!?!?!?! The ending again!!! I need to know what happens like NOW!!!

Yet again H.M. Ward has written another fantastic novel that will leave readers guessing until the very last pages. Anna continues to be a great and relatable character whom I admire greatly for following her dreams and her heart. Have to say this was my favorite Secrets volume so far!! I hope you all pick up a copy and make sure to leave reviews of your own for H.M. Ward's amazing books!

Favorite Quote:
I chose two this time, one for humor and one because I truly believe this quote to be true:

I wrap my arms around myself and look down. Sparklie yellow sneakers are on my feet. I love them! We
stop walking so I can wiggle my toes and watch them glitter. Cole’s warm hand wraps around my
arm, “What is it with you and those shoes?”

“I mean, what if you don’t get over him? What if you just learn how to get on without him? People who’ve been in love have that haunted look in their eyes. It’s like a piece of them is unattainable, forever held back and protected at all cost.”
 
 

Monday, November 19, 2012

It's Monday! What are You Reading?

Welcome to It's Monday! is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you've read the past week and are planning to read the next.

Read and Reviewed Last Week:





 Haven't reviewed yet but will do this week.
















This week Read and Review:























Now I know I am probably over shooting just how much I will be able to get done but I am keeping my fingers crossed that I will be able to get at least half of these done by the time I have to go back to school where homework awaits me! Wish me luck!

Hey it's Monday! What are you reading?

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Path of Needles Review

Path of Needles (Paths #1) by Hannah Kollef
Synopsis:
When 17-year-old Kat Finnegan is warned in a Brooklyn alleyway that her father is going to disappear, she shrugs and walks away. The next morning her father is gone--leaving behind a booby-trapped apartment and a mystery that has slept for a thousand years.

To get him back, Kat and her twin brother Roger will have to unravel the secrets behind the Rose Queen--the fairy queen who ripped apart reality and stitched it back together, transforming the Fey into the memories known as fairy tales. They will also have to come to grips with their emerging powers and discover why they are known to the magical world as "The Truth" and "The Lie."

Hunted by demons and treacherous Fey, Kat and Roger follow the Queen's trail from Manhattan to Newark. But neither the Queen nor her curse is what they expected, and more is at stake than their father's life--and theirs.

Path of Needles is the explosive first book in the Paths series: urban fantasies littered with deadly fairy tales, tangled romance, and heartbreaking betrayals.

My Review:
 I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.

Path of Needles was such a great book!!! *gushes* Honestly this book is seriously awesome! This book sucked me in from the beginning I honestly couldn't put it down A perfect mix of YA and fairy tales and not the Disney fairy tales either I'm talking old school. Kat is a great character, I love Jim, Roger seems sexy, I just eek!!! Okay let me explain:

Path of Needles starts off at a party for Kat's father Jonathan Finnegan. The next day at school and at The Dirty Harpoon a bar Jim's mother owns Kat starts meeting some strange new people and seeing things that she shouldn't. After the party the next day Kat stays the night at her best friend Jim's house where Kat gets a warning, that her father is going to disappear and she's not going to fully understand, then her powers are awakened. The next morning she wakes up and her father is gone. Meeting up with her twin brother and Jim's crush Roger they enter their apartment to find that everything is wrong. The apartment is trashed, there's black gunk all over the floor, and nobody can see them:

"She turned to us, unseeing, revealing a long swipe across her nose and one cheek. As we watched she ran a hand covered in the stuff through her hair, leaving it sticky and matted..."

After that they are attacked by a giant wolf looking beast and then taken away by Hank, Kat and Rogers fathers best friend. There Hank tells them a story that says fairy tales are very real, and so are the dark creature within them. He also reveals not only his identity, but also Kat and Rogers as well as their destiny. Together they are to destroy the Rose Queen who destroyed the fairy tale world and replaced it with humanity. Trying to take them somewhere safe so they can recover Kat falls ill and their sanctuary is compromised and no one is safe any longer. Attacked by evil creatures on land Kat and Jim escape to the water, only it's not safe there either. There they meet and unlikely ally and then are betrayed in the worst possible way.

I really enjoyed reading about Kat's and revelation realizing that they can only rely on themselves and that if they want anything in their world they will have to do everything on their own:

"I had to rely on myself now. And that was the bitter Truth--capital intended--as only I could see it. In the end, the very end, I had only myself."

Kat was a great character to read about. She's smart and can think things through even in tough situations. She only tries to rely on herself and I like that. I also liked how no matter what she was always loyal to her friends and family. Kat is honestly hilarious and easily relatable. Jim is very smart and I love when he starts talking about conspiracy theories about the government and aliens. Roger was a bit of a butt hole the entire book which was kind of aggravating.

Overall great story. A great mix of fairy tales that I had never heard about such as Red Riding Hood and Snow White. I really loved the spin on them and Path of Needles really made me want to find out more about the fairy tales so I can follow along better in the next books. I can not wait until the next book to come out. Hannah Kollef spun an amazing tale with Path of Needles and I can not wait to read more. Path of Needles contained just the right amount of inner dialogue, character interactions, action and fight scenes, and description. Many times in the book it felt as if I could see it! So perfect! Plus the story always kept me guessing and I was never sure what was going to happen next, which is always great!
I also loved how there was gay love. Eeek sorry but I love and am an active supported of LGBT so I always get excited when there are gay characters and I can not wait to find out how that relationship progresses!!
I hope everyone will pick up a copy and love this book just as much as I did.

Rating: 4.5 bats

Author Info:
Hannah Kollef was born on the anniversary of Genghis Khan's death. She believes this is responsible for her poor table manners and love of pillaging.

Hannah earned her BA in Japanese and Political Science at Washington and Lee University. Upon graduating, she decided to pursue writing and published her first novel, "To Wake the Shadows." In October 2012 she published the first in her new Paths series, titled "Path of Needles." She also launched her new website, hannahkollef.com, a multimedia collaboration with input from a variety of talented musicians and artists.

​In addition to her novels, Hannah has been published in various magazines including In General magazine and Hometown Quarterly. She also works as a freelance copywriter, editor, and social media consultant for several small businesses. She lives close to New York City.  

To find out more about Hannah and her books go to: Hannahkollef.com 

Like my review? Let me know please by leaving a comment as you pass by 8)

Friday, November 16, 2012

Feature & Follow #10

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers — but you have to know — the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.
Q: Books are turned into movies all the time. Turn it around! What movie would make a good book?
Hm...well I've never thought of that. Ugh this is hard, I mean I watch a LOT of superhero movies like X-Men and such which are already comic books....um... The Book of Eli I guess.

What movie would you turn into a book?
 

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Sweet St. Lucia Review

Sweet St. Lucia: An Erotic Island Affair by B.J. Cherry
Book Info:
The genre: erotic romance.
Word count: about 15,800
You can buy your copy from Amazon for $0.99

Synopsis:
When Molly Shutter travels to St. Lucia with her husband Paul, it is more of a business trip than a lover’s vacation.
Paul had fallen in love with the island whilst there on their honeymoon twenty years ago.
He has now bought a small resort on the island with intentions of expanding it.
Molly is left lonely in her room and finds comfort in the arms of another man – David, a sensual young waiter, who caters to her every need.
His rich accent puts her in a trance and his spicy island flair is hard to miss.
Her nights with David are hot and sensual.
He takes her to new heights and soon, Molly begins to feel that maybe this is the end of her tremulous marriage.
In a whirlwind of events, Molly Shutter finds herself wrapped up in a relationship filled with lust, love, lies and deceit. It is an exotic island affair that leaves everyone speechless, including Molly.

My Thoughts:
I received this book free for a honest review.

Well Sweet St. Lucia is...wow! A Lot happens in a short amount of time. This book is definitely full of passion, emotions, and two different men.

Warning if you do not approve of cheating, no matter the circumstances I would not suggest reading this book.  

This story is told by Molly Shutter who's life is filled with constant sadness. She is married to a man more into his work than with what his wife, no matter the circumstances. When they are together he uses her for sex and then ignores her. When other members of the opposite sex even look in Molly's direction Paul becomes controlling and acts as if he owns Molly. Needless to say Molly is left feeling alone, unloved, and used. When they reach the island where Paul is to do business Molly is approached by a sexy man named David who works at the hotel. David and Molly are drawn to each other and Molly begins to feel things she's never felt before, not even with her husband. David continues to court Molly in private and Molly begins to feel everything she never felt with her husband. Love.

I have to say I am quite jealous. In a small amount of time Molly has sex and sexual encounters about five times. I have to say although I don't advocate cheating I have to say I didn't hate Molly when it happened. I felt really bad about the situation she was in and I liked how she realized that cheating on her husband wasn't going to change anything between her husband and her. Sweet St. Lucia I think is a lot about what a relationship is, and what a relationship isn't. Relationships rely on love from both parties as well as equal amounts of passion

The one thing that did bother me was what David says at the ending. I didn't really understand how and where his feeling had come from in two days. Seemed really unrealistic to me. 

Other than that if you are looking for a quick erotica to read, this is definitely the book for you. Overall, a great quick read with lots of emotions and passion filled in each page. Hope you enjoy and pick up a copy.

 Rating 3.5

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday #8

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by Breaking the Spine to show upcoming releases we're excited about. This weeks book is:
Secrets Vol. 4 by H.M. Ward

Why I am waiting:
If you don't know already I am deeply in love with H.M. Wards books. Seriously!! In love with. I make sure ALL my reviews go to amazon so she'll write more. So yeah anyway I love her books and Secrets Vol. 3 was left in such heart wrenching devastation I am dying to get my hands on a copy of the fourth volume of this book. Honestly if you have yet to read anything by her yet...well I don't know what you're waiting for. 8)

What book are you waiting on?

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

We Are Savages Review

We Are Savages by Jessie Atkin

Book Info:
Published by: Brady and Dustin Publishing
Format: ebook
Pages: 227
Date: July 2012

Synopsis:
We Are Savages is the story of 12 year old Tris and what she finds when she runs from the responsibility of her household and descends through a rain grate into the child run world of Nowhere. "You go to bed angry or sad enough you can wake up just about anywhere," the Savages tell her. It is a brick utopia hidden in the sewers; made up of sweets, sports, hammocks, and fireflies. But even this haven, free of parents and protocol, is not everything it seems. Haunted by dark specters known only as Phocydes, feared for their reputation of consuming children whole, Tris works both to hunt and to hide from these hooded shadows. But something about them is familiar; something about them fires her curiosity more than her fear. And Tris slowly begins to realize that, no matter where you go, fear and responsibility are not things you can escape, the only thing to do is face them.

Thoughts:
I received a free copy of this book for a honest review.

We Are Savages brings forth a lot about the struggles of growing up. Tris at the stage in her life where her family believes she is supposed to be grown up and act proper. Tris's mother often mentions how when Tris turns 13 people will be looking at her differently and that 13 is sort of Tris' coming of age. This aspect of her parents pushing adulthood upon her starts a lot of conflict between Tris and her parents. One day her parents leave the house and while Tris is playing downstairs breaks a lamp. This starts a whole series of problems, one where Tris's mother threatens that if she doesn't get a job to pay for it Tris's best friend and dog Mars would be taken away. With that Tris packs up and takes off in the night with Mars hoping to never return. Leaving her house she falls down a sewer and ends up in a place full of children called Nowhere.

Nowhere is a place where you never have to sleep, there are no rules, and children can play day and night nonstop with other children. While the enchanted place of Nowhere should be dark and scary, there are fireflies that light up the cave for the children to play. In Nowhere Tris meets some new friends; Aya a girl who never stops complaining and is constantly negative, Logan a boy who is mostly the leader of the Nowhere Savage children, and Declan a boy who works as a doctor and likes to ask questions. Together this group of friends spends the day fighting, playing, swimming, and talking. Everything seems great, but danger lurks around every corner and the time will come when the children must unite to fight out there worst fears.

We Are Savages brings up a lot about what growing up means. Most of time it means taking on responsibilities and having less fun.Tris has a lot of problems with that because she doesn't want to grow up. Tris is a very relatable character, which is one of the reasons this book was so great. I could easily relate to how she was feeling about growing up. I mean come on, who really wants to grow up? Growing up is boring and I think the little kid inside of me really related and wanted Tris and the other Savages to have their freedom and their innocence.

Overall I really really enjoyed this book and I hope you all pick up a copy to read. This book is great and extremely well written. The characters are all well written and relatable. We Are Savages is a truly astonishing story about growing up and finding out who you are. 

Favorite Quote:
"In less than a year, Tris was going to be thirteen, and she did not care one bit. To her mother, however, this seemed a most important number. Thirteen would bring a wave of change, and Mrs. Simon wanted Tris prepared. Prepared to look different, dress differently, and act differently.

“People will look at you very differently when you are older,” Mrs. Simon would say. “You should be prepared to look different for them.”

Tris never did anything specifically set for pleasing someone else (except for Mars), and she couldn’t see why things should change so drastically in mere months."

Like my review? Let me know by leaving me a comment, please! 8)

About the Author:
Jessie Atkin lives in Upstate, NY, and attended Washington University in St. Louis. She received a B.A. in English Literature. Besides reading, she was also involved in theater during college, working as an assistant stage manager and even trying her hand at acting in a single show.

Jessie learned to read later than most, but her sudden ability coincided with the release of the first Harry Potter book in 1998, and an obsession was born. Aside from Harry Potter, she also learned to love comic books, with a particular affinity for superheroes. Other than young adult fiction, Jessie also writes plays in her free time. We Are Savages is her debut novel.
To find out more about Jessie visit: jessieatkin.com

Monday, November 12, 2012

Release Day

                                                        
Blurb: Make it Last 
In a small town, it's hard to recover from being dumped by your high school sweetheart. That's just what Briana has to do after Colin leaves her to follow his dreams. She focuses her energy into her friendships and the pursuit of her own goal of becoming a chef. Just when she finally feels like she's on the right path, he comes back to town.

Colin knew breaking up with Briana before leaving for college was the right thing to do. He was determined to leave small-town life behind forever, and that included his high school girlfriend. But when a sports injury puts him on the sidelines, he's forced to return home. Seeing Briana again brings back a lot of memories, and Colin wonders if he made the right decision. It doesn't take long for him to realize he wants her back, and this time, he wants to make it last.







 Author Bio: Bethany Lopez was born in Detroit, Michigan, and grew up in Michigan and San Antonio, Texas. She went to High School at Dearborn High, in Dearborn, Michigan, which is where she has set her Young Adult novel. She is married and has a blended family with five children. She is currently serving in the United States Air Force as a Recruiter in Los Angeles, California. She has always loved to read and write and has seen her dream realized by independently publishing her contemporary Young Adult series, Stories About Melissa. Ta Ta for Now!, xoxoxo, and Ciao are available now. Bethany is currently working on a Contemporary Fantasy YA and a Contemporary New Adult Trilogy.

GIVEAWAY -

Rafflecopter: 

Giveaway


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...