Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Zeus, Inc. Review

Zeus, Inc. Robin Burks
Synopsis: (goodreads)
50 years ago, Zeus, Inc., and its CEO, the mysterious Joseph Brentwood, saved the world from a major energy crisis by discovering a new unlimited energy resource. Now, in 2069, Mr. Brentwood has gone missing and private eye Alex Grosjean has been hired to find him by his daughter (and Alex's best friend), Aleisha.

Black-outs begin to occur all over the world and somehow Alex believes it's tied to Mr. Brentwood's disappearance. Her search leads her through her own murky past and into the fantastical depths of Hell itself, where she discovers that Mr. Brentwood is not who or what he seems to be.

With the help of an otherworldly man named Pip, Alex must save both Mr. Brentwood and the world. But will she be able to face her own guilty past in order to do it?

Review:
I received a free copy of Zeus, Inc. for an honest review.

Before I started this book I wasn't exactly sure what to think about it. The synopsis is very mysterious and I kept wondering why the title and the main company in the book was called Zeus, Inc. Zeus if you don't know being the God of thunder and all that jazz I couldn't help but wonder if he had anything to do with the story.

As I started I immediately fell in love with Robin Burks's writing style. I felt she made incredibly realistic characters with flaws, and relationships, and fears. I felt that was incredibly awesome and the world of Zeus, Inc is awesome.

Zeus, Inc. is set in the future the year 2065. 50 years before in 2015 the world was in chaos, running out of natural resources to fuel society as we know it today. Riots and wars began all over the world. That is until Joseph Brentwood came out of nowhere with an ever lasting power supply. For 50 years everything seems to be going great. That is until Joseph Brentworth goes missing.

Enter the main character and hero of the story; Alex Grosjean. Alex is an ex-cop turned private investigator. She lives with her mother (which isn't as pathetic as it sounds), and her cat. She is divorced and is best friends with Josephs' daughter Aleisha the Vice President of Zeus, Inc. Alex gets a call at the beginning of the story about her Joseph being missing. Initially she doesn't want to take the case due to her colored past on the police force, but considering it's her best friend she has no choice but to say yes. That's when everything starts to get weird.

While Alex is investigating the case she meets Phillip Smith a.k.a. Pip. Pip is a out of this world hottie, and Alex is immediately attracted to him. After meeting him he is the first person on her suspects list. While confronting Pip about the case and what he knows, Pip introduces her into the world of the Gods. Greek Gods to be more exact. After this finding Alex becomes more and more entangled with the Gods realizes she is the only one who can figure out a way to find Joseph Brentworth and find a way to save the world become another energy wipe out occurs. For Earth isn't the only one with problems, the Gods may be going to war too.

I honestly love Alex. I loved her humor and the way she reacted to situations, not going into a situation without a plan, and sometimes completely doubting her ability to do anything right. I felt that aspect made her more likeable to me because she wasn't perfect. She is extremely loyal, strong, and just all around an amazing character. I felt as the story progressed Alex became an even stronger character. The ghosts of her past weren't entirely so horrible and looming. The way she acted towards those closer to her became a lot better as well as she realized what and who was important. I was extremely happy with how she turned out to be as a character in the end.

The only aspect I didn't like about the book or rather Alex was how she acted towards Pip. He was an honest to goodness a swoon worthy sweetheart and Alex was a complete 'B word' to him. Every time he did or said anything she would state she wanted to punch him in the face. If he was ever even talking to another woman she would get all jealous, but then not two seconds later she was being pushing him away and telling him to shove off. Honestly that was my real only problem though.

Zeus, Inc. contains a lot of colorful language, mostly by Alex, acts of violence and murders. I truly did enjoy Zeus, Inc. and am crossing my fingers there will be a second one (hint, hint). I hope you all enjoyed my review and I really hope you pick up a copy of this book soon. Lots of humor and "wtfery" moments.

Favorite Quote:
"I quickly dropped my hands and changed the subject. "So those two who visited me the other night. Who were they?" I asked.

He smiled, knowingly. "Ares and Aphrodite."

Of course, I thought. In fact, I think I had already sort of figured that out. Although in my mind they were still Mr. Scowly Face and Miss Perfect Bitch. I found those the names I had given them much more appropriate."

About the Author: (Robin Burks Blog)
Robin Burks is a person of multiple talents. Not only does she own a web development studio, Bad Karma Studios, but she also has a small online music promotions company, Sunrise Promotions. Writing, though, is her passion. She is currently a feature writer for DVICE.com and RantGaming.com, as well as writing for her own site FanGirlConfessions.com.
Robin has just published her first novel: Zeus, Inc.
An internet addict, she can often be found on Facebook, Twitter and Google+.  She also loves to read (obviously), act, sing, play video games and travel.
Robin currently lives in Missouri with her four cats. She also occasionally speaks French and loves Docto

Get your copy at : SmashwordAmazonBarnes & Noble, or iBooks

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Halloween Book News!!!!

So if you don't know I am in love with H.M.Ward. I love her all of her books with a passion. So I have some news and it's FREE, which is awesome right?
Stone Prison by H.M. Ward

Is on Sale and by sale I mean free. That's right Free. This book creeped the BLEEEP out of me so if you are looking for something to scare the Halloween Candy out of you, this would be the book.

FREEBIE for awesome fans! Yup - that's you! Halloween Horror, "Stone Prison" is a gruesome fairy tale. Free until Nov 1 on Smashwords w/ Coupon: JH47H U can read on your phone, computer, kindle, nook, etc. Happy reading! https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/165764
This book will be free until November 1st.
Synopsis:
Bestselling author of the DEMON KISSED series presents TWISTED TALES.  This new series of novella have a Gothic feel with a dark twist reminiscent of Edgar Allan Poe's famous stories.
This dark tale is like the fables of old, with a twist...
While other seventeen-year-old girls are dreaming of marrying the prince, Ella is hoping that she doesn't get caught.  Ellis is a thief, forces to live that way by the witch who slaughtered her father fifteen years ago.  Since that gruesome night, Ella has been locking in a stone prison--kidnapped--with no chance of freedom.  No one can escape from the witch.  Ever.  But this year, everything changes.

Teaser Tuesday #10

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by the blog Should Be Reading.

How to do it:

  • Grab your current read
  • Flip to a random page, and share two random teasers from the book that aren't too spoiler-y
This weeks teaser comes from:
Bohemia by Veronika Caraby
I woke up in mid-motion on a bumpy ride somewhere over the black back roads of southern England. It took me a second to snap back into a clear frame of mind. My head was as fogged up as the early morning atmosphere when the freight rolled into the Manchester train station.

What's your teaser this week?

Monday, October 29, 2012

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Welcome to It's Monday! is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you've read the past week and are planning to read the next.

I got a bit more accomplished this week than I have been, thankfully. So here is what I have been up to.

Last week I read:

 Tempting the Player (Gamble #1) by J. Lynn

I haven't reviewed this book yet but hoping I can accomplish that this week!!!













Zeus, Inc. by Robin Burks. I finished this book yesterday and am making sure I get this review out before the end of October!















This week:
Read and Review:
Bohemia by Veronika Caranby. Received this book for review early this month, but since school sucks butt hole I fell a tad behind.


That's it this week. I know sad, but I'm thinking realistically here since I have ANOTHER paper due by Thursday this week...that I haven't started yet hehe oops!!








So it's Monday! What are you reading?

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Liebster Award

I would like and love to thank Marilyn from Marilyn's Mystery Blog for nominating me for the Liebster Award. Yippeee to me and a BIG thank you to you!!!!

To participate:
  1. Thank and link back to the nominator
  2. Answer questions from award giver
  3. Nominate 5 other bloggers with fewer than 200 hundred followers
  4. Ask questions for nominee's to answer
  5. Post Liebster Award on your blog!
Marilyn's Questions:

 1. If you could write yourself into any story, which one would it be and what role would you play?
Um....hm...there are so many. I swear I wish I could be in every book. Honestly I think I would be so funny. Hehe Oh okay I got this. I would love to be Bridget from Tempting the Player. I love her, plus she get's to do fun stuff with Chad Gamble who is a complete hunksicle. Plus he's rich so he can afford my book habit. 8)

 2. What is your favorite fantasy character type? Vampire, Werewolf, Angel, Alien, Trylle, Fairy or other? 
 I love Vampires. I went through my entire childhood being infatuated with Vampires. I wanted to know everything about them, read every book, and watch every movie with Vampires in it.

3. What is your current read and are you enjoying it?
I am currently reading Zues, Inc. by Robin Burks. I am loving it lots!!!
4. What do you enjoy most about blogging?
 I love the people and finding out about new books. Other bloggers are so amazing and I love getting comments!! So awesome!
5. Name three books you have read more than once.
Just three? I've reread ALL of my books at least three times but here it goes: The Host by Stephanie Meyer, Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, and Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel.
 


My Nominee's:
  1. The Review Diaries
  2. Sweet Treat Reading Reviews
  3. All in One Place
  4. My Library in the Making
  5. Bo's Book Nook
Questions:
  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What is your favorite book and why?
  3. Have you ever gotten into a book funk where you don't like or want to read?
  4. Are there certain genres you just won't  read?
  5. If you could be any character in any book who would it be, and why? 

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Stacking the Shelves #15

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly blog post hosted by Tynga's Reviews to share what books you've bought in the past week. I got to come home this weekend to vote (first time voter here!!!) for the presidential election. Yay me!! Anyway while home I was like I need to go to B&N!!!! I have been going through withdraw since there are NO bookstores where I go to college so I was extremely happy when my mom told me that should would take me. Oh and she paid so that was even better haha I'm horrible. Anyway so I shall show you my books this week!!!! Oh before that I just wanted to give a ginormous THANK YOU to the amazing two amazing ladies that asked me to review their books this week. Thank you so so much you all are awesome!!

Received for Review:



Ebook:
Bookstore:
Received for Review:
E-book:
Book store:
What did you stack your shelves with?

Friday, October 26, 2012

Feature & Follow #7

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers — but you have to know — the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

Q: What writing device or trick most irritates you when reading a book? For example, if an author employs an omnipotent narrator that is sometimes considered bad form.

Um....I'm not sure. A lot of people today have been saying insta-love. I'm not sure that really bothers me. 

Okay I got one. I hate when authors who are supposed to be writing teen fiction and then the put big words in there. Like a word that honest to goodness I need to look up and am like...uh okay that word makes no sense and I have never known a teenager or an educated adult use that word. It's just a pain in the ars for me since if I find a word I don't know I look it up. It just gets annoying after a while because I'm like come on!!!! Who the bleep would use that word. Like when describing a kiss instead of saying kissing they'll use :  osculation.....as if I know what that word means and it's totally a mood killer for me. Osculation? Seriously?


What irritates you most while reading? 

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Swoon Thursday #7

Swoon Thursday is a weekly blog posting hosted by YA Bound
How to do it:

From the book you are currently reading from or just finished. Then state which part of the book made you swoon. What got your heart pounding, your skin tingling, and your stomach fluttering. 

Shout it out on Twitter with the hashtag #YABound, post it here in the comments, or grab the adorable button above and share it on your blog! We want to know.
This weeks swoon worth moment comes from the book:

Tempting the Player (Gamble Brothers #2) by J. Lynn
"His hands were rough from the years of playing baseball, but she liked the feel of them. He tilted her head back and with no  other warning, he brought his mouth to hers, kissing away her protest and denials. His tongue  swept past her lips, tangling with hers."


What made you swoon this week?

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Wishlist Wednesday #6

Wishlist Wednesday is a weekly post hosted by the Pen and Paper blog. This post is where you post about what a book you really really really want or has been sitting and waiting on your wishlist for some time. There are soo many books out there so this weeks book is:

Override (Glitch #2) by Heather Anastasiu 
Synopsis:
Zoe is free. She has escaped the enslavement of the Community, disconnected from the hardware that had controlled her every thought and emotion, and evaded capture by the Chancellor intent on killing her. She is finally free, but she is far from safe.

Zoe and Adrien hide themselves from detection at the Foundation, an academy that trains teen glitchers to fight in the Resistance movement. Together, Zoe and her new team of superhuman fighters must risk their lives to rescue other glitchers and humans from the Chancellor's control. Challenges abound at every turn, and Adrien, who has become silent, distant, and tormented by his visions of the future, only adds to the growing certainty of defeat. But worst of all, as Zoe's team fights against impossible odds, distrust and betrayal leads to the terrible discovery that their greatest threat could already be lurking behind the safe walls of the Foundation.

Full of high-adrenaline action and shocking twists, Heather Anastasiu's Override is an exciting continuation of this popular young adult trilogy.

Why I Am Wishing:

I loved Glitch the first novel in the trilogy
Adrien is sexy!!!
Cool and awesome powers
Evil Government....what more could I ask for?

What book are you wishing for?

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Teaser Tuesday #9

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly blog posting hosted by the blog Should Be Reading.

How to do it:

  • Grab your current read
  • Flip to a random page, and share two random teasers from the book that aren't too spoiler-y
Zeus, Inc. by Robin Burks
 "I recoiled at the use of the word "Miss," as I always do. Damn it, but leave it to a kid to make me feel so old. "Hey, Timmy," I replied, still attempting to seem busy and distracted, using my best adult voice."
 
Well that's my teaser, what's yours?

Monday, October 22, 2012

It's Monday What are You Reading

Welcome to It's Monday! is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you've read the past week and are planning to read the next.

So this meme is new to me, so I guess we'll see how this goes. I have been prohibited from reading due to school 8( stupid college. However I do plan on reading sometime this week so here are my reads:

Last week:
 Read and Reviewed: The Chupacabra: A Borderline CrazyTale of Coyotes, Cash & Cartels you can read my review (HERE)



And that was it. I know sad right?






This week: (hopefully)
Bohemia by Veronika Carnaby










Zeus, Inc. by Robin Burks

13 on Halloween (Shadow #1) by Laura A.H. Elliott










Wither (The Chemical Garden #1) by Lauren DeStefano










What are you reading?

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Stacking the Shelves #14

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly blog post hosted by Tynga's Reviews to share what books you've bought in the past week. I was feeling extremely spoiled this week 8) So so happy. These book reviews will not be featured on my blog until November sometime(homework).  I just want to give a GINORMOUS THANK YOU to everyone that has sent me books this past week. You are all awesome. Thank you so so much you authors and publishers make my life.

Received for Review from Musa Publishing:





Received from Author:

Entered to Review:
Bought: (ebook)
Received in the mail:
Me in all my dorky glory haha


Received for Review: (Musa Publishing)

Received from author: (Margret Lesh)
Entered to Review:
Bought:
Received in the Mail: (Kristin Campbell)
What's on Your shelves this week?

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Feature & Follow #6




Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community. If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers — but you have to know — the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

Q: When you step out of your USUAL genre what do you like to read? Best books in that genre?



um I don't think I have a usual genre. I do read a lot of YA and I haven't really moved out of that genre in some time. Sometimes I do read Mature YA which is awesome and completely new to me, I also read some Adult fiction, and a variety of other genres so no usual genre for me except YA. 8) 

Best book I have read has been Beautiful Disaster which is YA Romance/ Adult Fiction Erotica. If you want you can read my review HERE. I am absolutely in love with that book. It's honestly one of the best books I have read all year. 8)

What other genres do you like to read?
You follow me I follow you 8)

The Chupacabra Review and Blog Tour

The Chupacabra: A Borderline Crazy Tale of Coyotes, Cash & Cartels
By Stephen Randel
233 pages
Publisher: Knuckleball Press
August 19, 2012
Genre: Dark Comedy
Amazon link:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Chupacabra-Borderline-Coyotes-ebook/dp/B009068D40/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1345579141&sr=8-1
Synopsis:
He is called El Barerquo. He makes his trade along the border, smuggling guns and killing without remorse. As he faces his one last mission, his perfect plan is unwittingly foiled by Avery, a paranoid loner obsessed with global conspiracy theories who spends most of his time crafting absurd and threatening letters to anyone who offends him. That means pretty much everyone.

What unfolds is a laugh out loud dark comedy of madcap adventure stretching from Austin to the West Texas border featuring a lunatic band of civilian border militia, a group of bingo-crazed elderly ladies (one packing a pistol nearly as long as her arm), a murderous and double-crossing cartel boss, a burned-out hippy, and a crotchety retired doctor and his pugnacious French bulldog. Read it to believe it.

Bio:
Stephen Randel, CFA, was born in Houston, Texas. He is a graduate of Texas
Christian University. Steve now lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota with his wife and
their two rescue dogs.
Review:
I received The Chupacabra in exchange for an honest review.

There are multiple character perspectives, and a very unique world bringing about the perspective of multiple characters together in an amazingly written novel in a way that makes sense. There is a wide vary of humor included in this novel.

The Chupacabra is honestly the most diverse reads I've ever had. The word talks about the border control problems with gun and drug cartels, as well as murders along the United States, and Mexican border. There is evil working both sides of the border. The main antagonist; El Barerquo "The ferryman." He kills without hesitation. Is cunning, and is working the system to try and start an all out war between some of the biggest drug and arm smugglers in Mexico in his quest to gain money. There is a lot of violence especially where El Barequo is involved. He is either the cause of or near the area when violence is taken place.

I honestly have to say Avery was one of the funniest characters to read about. He definitely has an insanely interesting and definitely a sugar crazed narcissist. Most of his personality was brought about in e-mails he wrote to every corporation he felt had wronged him in some way. He finds himself incredibly self important and is socially inept.

 Avery and the church going bingo women are easily the most hilarious in the novel. Especially Mrs. Pearl, she honestly cracked me up every time she opened her mouth. Oh and the French Bull dog Maximilian, he was extremely entertaining to read as well.

There are many more perspectives and stories told in this novel, and each of their stories is brought into the grander story in some form or fashion. I thought it was impeccable writing, and I hope you all pick up your copy of The Chupacabra ASAP!!!! It's an amazing read, with amazing writing and I hope there is more to come from Stephen Randel.

Rating: 4.5 bats:
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...