Saturday, June 30, 2012

Stacking the Shelves #2

Stacking the shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. This is my 2nd Stacking the Shelves!!

ebook:

 
 Borrowed:

Book List: 
  • Haunted Love by Cynthia Leitich Smith
  • MOA (MOA #1) by Tricia Stewart Shiu 
  • Change of Fate (Briar Creek Vampires #4) by Jayme Morse
  • The Warrior Heir (The Heir Chronicles #1) by Cinda Williams Chima
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • Unleashed (Wolf Springs Chronicles #1) by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguie
  • Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs
  • Hearts at Stake by Alyxandra Harvey
  • Across the Universe by Beth Revis
  • Shade by Jeri Smith- Ready
  • Glimmerglass by Jenna Black
What amazing books did you get this week? 8)

Friday, June 29, 2012

Beautiful Cover Day

Beautiful Cover Day!!!!!

But first, stellar news everyone!!! I got my first follower today/ last night. 
BIG GINORMOUS THANK YOU TO
 http://breatheinbooks.blogspot.com/
for being my very first follower. I will love you forever. (totally not creepy!)









Aren't they sooo pretty!!!! I can't pick which one I like bestest! I wish I had the UK version of Diabolical though, so beautiful! The Indigo Spell cover isn't finished yet cuz Sydney has no tattoos but still very beautiful!!!!

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Valefar Vol. 2 Review

Valefar Vol. 2 by H.M. Ward
Synopsis:
The dangerous and beautiful Collin Smith just made the biggest mistake of his life, and there is no way to fix it. In his quest to restore his soul, he destroyed the only person he truly cared about, Ivy Taylor. Collin tries to deny his love for her, but his desire to protect Ivy drives him to do things Valefar shouldn't do. If Collin exposes his weakness—his affection for Ivy—he endangers them both and risks the wrath of Kreturus.

The VALEFAR volumes are meant to read in one sitting, and generally takes about an hour. VALEFAR VOL. 2 is a YA Paranormal Romance and has 13,223 words (90 pages). VALEFAR VOL. 3 will be released Summer 2012.
 (Synopsis from Goodreads.com)
Review:
 From first reading Demon Kissed I have loved Collin. He's so totally sexy even though he's evil and not evil, but he is evil. Okay that didn't make sense. Let me start over.
  • Collin Smith is Valefar, which is a soul sucking demon who isn't supposed to feel emotions of any kind. Now that being said, Collin also has a soul. Which means he is a soul sucking demon with feelings. Making him completely sexy.
  •  I was extremely excited to hear that H.M. Ward was going to be writing a back story on Collin. I always love reading the back story on different characters and really wanted to know what life as Collin would be like.
  •  Valefar Vol. 2 didn't disappoint. I loved how he is such a strong, loyal, and caring person, but also lets his Valefar side out. Hearing about why he let the word "SLUT" to be written across Ivy's locker, and reading about why he hung out with Nichole was interesting too, because I never would have thought that he hated her as much as he does. 
  • Totally awesome to hear. This is a short read, however, wouldn't suggest reading this unless you've already read Valefar Vol. 1
  • Valefar Vol. 2 is a lot like the rest of H.M. Wards original series Demon Kissed. Filled with whirl wind emotions, and problems too big for this world, let alone one person. This the extreme conflict that shadows over the entire series.
  • So there you have it!! This short story is completely awesome, I really can't wait until they get Collins picture on these!!!!  
Favorite Quote:
"It's not optional, Taylor. You need some sunshine." She rolled her eyes, but didn't say anything, Collin reached for her. Caught her off guard, she didn't know what he was doing. Ive felt his hand slide around her waist and before she knew it, Collin was thrusting her over his shoulder and standing up.
She screamed, arms flailing, "Put me down!"
He laughed, "Yeah that's not gonna happen."

Rating: 5/5

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Review of Fated (The Soul Seekers #1)

 Synopsis:
 The first book in a magnificent new series about a girl who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead by #1 New York Times bestselling author Alyson Noël.

Lately strange things have been happening to Daire Santos. Animals follow her, crows mock her, and glowing people appear out of nowhere. Worried that Daire is having a nervous breakdown, her mother packs her off to stay in the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico with a grandmother she’s never met.

There she crosses paths with Dace, a gorgeous guy with unearthly blue eyes who she’s encountered before...but only in her dreams. And she’ll get to know her grandmother—a woman who recognizes Daire’s bizarre episodes for what they are. A call to her true destiny as a Soul Seeker, one who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead. Her grandmother immediately begins teaching her to harness her powers—but it’s an art that must be mastered quickly. Because Dace’s brother is an evil shape-shifter who’s out to steal her powers. Now Daire must embrace her fate as a Soul Seeker and find out if Dace is one guy she’s meant to be with...or if he’s allied with the enemy she’s destined to destroy.

Monday, June 25, 2012

Music Monday #1

Music Monday
Okay so I was thinking about this posting last night and I was like what am I going to do. So I came up with Music Monday. I don't know if anyone else is doing this, but if they are I give them full credit. Anyway, I'm going to list a couple of books and a song that reminds me of them. The books I'm going to cover are in a series and I swear after reading both of them I was like oh my lanta these books remind me of this song.
Under My Skin and Second Skin by Judith Graves are two books I saw on my recommendations list on goodreads and after just finishing Taken By Storm by Jennifer Lynn Barnes I was still in the werewolfy mood. The song that reminds me of this series is:
She Wolf by Shakira

 Redgrave had its share of monsters before Eryn moved to town. The Delacroix family is taking the blame, but Eryn knows the truth. Something stalks the night. The Delacroix are dangerous, but then so is Eryn--in fact, she's lethal.
Sequel to Under My Skin.

With FIENDS like Eryn…

Monsters. Bloodsuckers. The evil. The damned. Eryn McCain knows they exist— she’s been hunting them since she was a child. At sixteen, she’s ready to take on all comers. Being a shapeshifter gives her an advantage when it comes to her unusual part-time job. The hours suck and the pay is, well, non-existent, but bonuses like inhuman strength and night vision make tracking scary beasties a dream come true. Especially in a town like Redgrave.

When an ancient demon targets Redgrave High, Eryn and her crew of hunters must face their innermost fears to prevent the Harvest Moon Dance from becoming one serious Monster Mash. Loyalties are tested and temptations abound. With questions ever brewing, can Eryn share a future with the brooding, noble, human Alec—the hunter after her heart? Or will she succumb to her enemy’s son, Wade, a seductive predator as bloodthirsty as she is?

What happens when you’re both the beauty and the beast?


Review: 
After I read these two books I had no idea what to think. Throughout the entire first book you pretty much know only about three main characters are supernaturals. At the end more characters have reveled themselves and I swear I never saw it coming. The main characters spends most of the entire first book fighting both sides of herself. She's a half wolven which is just a different more modern day werewolf. Kinda like Underworlds werewolves. They can change into humans, and have thoughts. Werewolves on the other hand can't change back into humans and have little to no humanity left in them. So Eryn throughout most of the series is trying to figure out what to do with herself. It's more or less extremely annoying.  Everyone is super secretive, even though they say they're friends which like I said annoying. Nobody trusts each other, and it's just dumb. The humor in this story is probably the only aspect that kept me reading. The song She Wolf reminds me of these two books is because, Eryn is trying to keep her wolven half trapped inside of her, and hidden from the entire world. Even herself. Even when she feels the pull of the moon, and uses her wolven super powers she still acts like it doesn't happen. The part of the song that reminds me of that is "There's a She Wolf in your closet, let it out so it can breathe." Seriously if she would just stop suffocating her wolven half throughout the entire series most of the problems in the book, wouldn't have happened.
Rated: 3/5

Also, there will be a third book called Skin of my Teeth. Expected released date 2013 sometime.

Saturday, June 23, 2012

Stacking the Shelves #1

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme that Tynga's Reviews came up with.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13602986-scandalous


 I bought:
Super excited to start reading them soon!!!

Friday, June 22, 2012

Review of Taken by Storm (Raised by Wolves #3)

Taken by Storm (Raised by Wolves #3) by 
Jennifer Lynn Barnes
 The series is called Raised by Wolves by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. I first got into this series from a friend and instantly fell in love. Now if you aren't familiar with the series I'll enlighten you a little. The series Raised by Wolves is a trilogy so if you don't like long series then you'll like these. The trilogy starts with Raised by Wolves, then Trial by Fire, and then Taken by Storm This series is not the usual werewolf story. There's a lot of rules and politics and it's just very different from any werewolf story I've ever read. So without further ado here is my review!

Synopsis: 
Bryn knows first-hand that being the alpha of a werewolf pack means making hard decisions, and that being human makes things a thousand times worse. She's prepared to give up her humanity, but the wolf who promised to Change her is waiting - though for what, Bryn doesn't know. Still human, she must take her place in the werewolf Senate, the precarious democracy that rules the North American packs. Standing side by side with werewolves who were ancient long before she was ever born is enough of a challenge, but Bryn soon learns that the Senate has been called to deal with a problem: the kind of problem that involves human bodies, a Rabid werewolf, and memories that Bryn, Chase, and the rest of their pack would rather forget. With bodies stacking up and political pressure closing in from all sides, Bryn and her pack are going to have to turn to old enemies and even older friends for help - especially when it starts to look like this time, the monster might be one of their own. (Synopsis from Goodreads.com)

My Review:
When I started this series I was a bit reluctant. I was not a big fan on werewolves and thought this series would be about a girl who lived with wolves and wanted to be one because she felt left out. Much to my surprise this book was like nothing I expected.
Therefore, after falling in love with the series I was dying with anticipation for the conclusion to Jennifer Lynn Barnes Raised by Wolves trilogy. I raced right to the store and bought Taken by Storm without hesitation. Then I do what I usually do when one of my most favorite series is coming to an end. I stalled on reading it. It was very hard to do because I swear that beautiful purple cover just called to me. So I started reading and couldn't put it down. I have to say I wanted to toss the book out into a storm after I picked up on the foreshadowing(although I will not share what that was in case you haven't read it). There are no words I can use to describe this book without giving anything away so I will just say that I laughed A LOT, cried...more than a lot, and was taken by surprise at almost every turn of the page. I have to say Devon will always be my favorite character because he is so funny, and managed to stay true to himself always. It broke my heart when Bryn or anyone else would talk about the female weres in the werewolf society. I truly do love the way that Jennifer Lynn Barnes brings everything about her characters, and the rules they live by to life. The way secondary characters are just as important and have their own stories, just as much as the narrator. The way she described every aspect so that when a character felt something it almost felt as if I were feeling it too. Truly impeccable writing.
What I didn't like: I totally saw everything coming that happened in the end, I knew was going to happen. I kind wish there was a little more of a surprise factor. The foreshadowing was way to obvious for me. To be honest this book was my least favorite in the series.
Favorite quote was:
"His thumb traced the lines of my jaw. I leaned into his touch, opening my eyes and staring into his, so blue that I could have lost myself in them, if only for a moment.
"Ahem."
Chase broke away from the kiss, and the two of us turned to our left to see Caroline and Lake standing side by side. Lake had a good nine inches on Caroline, and though they were both blonde, they looked nothing alike-but the expressions on there faces were almost identical.
This wasn't awkward of anything.
Lake who'd known me longer and was less capable of keeping her smart mouth shut, broke the silence. "Sorry to interrupt, but we weren't sure if you crazy kids were going to come up for air."
I wondered how much, if any, of our fight they had overheard.
"I mean, really, B., you and lover boy here ought to look into careers in deep-sea diving."
Overall Rating was a 3/5 

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Review of Tempting the Best Man

Tempting the Best Man by J. Lynn
Synopsis:
Madison Daniels has worshipped her brother's best friend since they were kids. Everyone thinks she and Chase Gamble would make the perfect couple, but there are two major flaws in their logic. 1) Chase has sworn off relationships of any kind, and 2) after blurring the line between friends and lovers for one night four years ago, they can't stop bickering.

Forced together for her brother's wedding getaway, Chase and Madison decide to call a truce for the happy couple. Except all bets are off when they're forced to shack up in a tacky 70’s honeymoon suite and survive a multitude of "accidents" as the family tries to prove their "spark" can be used than for more than fighting. That is, if they don't strangle each other first…

My Review:
Sweet baby Jesus. Lord have bleeping mercy that was HOTT. I seriously could not put this book down. I honestly devoured this book in about 2 to 3 hours. I knew this book would be awesome due to the fact that J. Lynn or Jennifer L. Armentrout wrote it. This novel was so not what I expected. Loved every moment of this book. Madison and Chase are amazing characters. So funny too. I loved reading about every single character because they were so amazingly interesting and funny. I love the first chapter especially when she's talking to her father on the phone. Most of the scenes in this point either had me fanning myself or laughing. Madison and Chase's relationship even when they were trying to avoid each other, or annoy each other or whatever they did was filled with incredibly strong sexual tension. Sexual tension practically leaked off the page. Throughout the entire book I'm just yelling at them for not being together. This book is amazingly realistic in the sense that Chase having issues growing up with a bad family also brought that to his relationships. Which is true with any relationship. Past most of the time, if not always affects the present. Madison I loved her with every page more and more. She like all of J. Lynn's characters are strong willed, and have the amazing ability to be strong even in heart wrenching situations. This book takes on many twists and turns that always left me wanting more and never knowing what's going to happen right until the very end. I have to say I did love the turn of events from how it seemed Madison and Chase's situations switched. Hehe I honestly believe that anything that J. Lynn writes is a complete work of art and I would read anything and everything she writes for as long as she writes it. I have read and reread and reread Tempting the Best Man so many times I couldn't even count them. I know if you haven't already read this amazing novel, you should. 

Favorite Quote:
"We need to talk."
"Right at this very moment?"
"What's wrong with right now?"
Was he daft? "I'm in the bathtub, Chase,in case you haven't noticed."
"Oh, I've noticed." His voice dropped low, husky, and sexy as hell.
And her body went right into take-me-now land. God, there needed to be an anti-sex pill or something for when she was around him."

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Book Release Wednesday

Happy Hump Day!!
Since Wednesday lands in the middle of the week, I figured I would show you some of the newly released that have come out this week. Everyone loves it when new books come out right? I know I do, although I usually leave the book store super poor, but oh well. So here are some of the lovely books that were released here as of yesterday!



Hope everyone enjoys and checks out at least one of these novels!!!

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Review of the Seven Realms Series #1-3

HAPPY TUESDAY!!!!!
This is my first day of blogging!!!! So exciting. I've been wanting to do this for a while now so yay me!!! Anyway I figured I would start out with a review of a series I just started. The Seven Realms Series is a series I instantly fell in love with, to my surprise. I had gotten the third book: The Gray Wolf Throne while I was attending my first RT Booklovers Convention which was awesome!!!! I even got the book signed by the awesome Cinda Williams Chima. So I promptly went off to B&N and bought the first two books in the series The Demon King and The Exiled Queen. Now I am anxiously awaiting for the fourth and final book in the series The Crimson Crown. So without further ado I present my reviews to you (yes I did mean to rhyme). 8) (Please read synopsis's for books with the attached links. Thank you!)


I had no idea what to expect from this book when I picked it up. I had not read Cinda Williams Chima's other books so I had no idea even what her writing style would be like so I just kind of went for it. I love the cover with the ginormous amulet with the scenery in the back. This book was a slow start for me. Mainly because it starts off with naming multiple place after place and I was completely confused there for a bit. After maybe the first hundred pages I really started getting into the story of Han and Raisa. Although it took me a little while to get through the first part of the book, The Demon King was well worth the read even though I needed to trudge through the first couple chapters. I enjoyed how this book had so many twists and turns that I didn't know exactly what was going to happen next. I did enjoy reading about Hans story a little more than Raisa but I did love them both as amazingly strong willed characters who would do anything to protect others less fortunate and those they care for. Overall there weren't any characters in this book that didn't all have a back story that wasn't present in the story which I liked a lot. There isn't a lot of "fluff" in this story. There was always something happening which kept the story interesting.The only thing I disliked only that it took a while to get into the story line.Favorite Quote: "Well, then, what's your position on multiple wives? If you have two or three, can your wife have multiple husbands?"



After reading The Demon King the first book in the Seven Realms series I was in a great hurry to read The Exiled Queen. This book did not disappoint. I wasn't sure what to expect before reading this book other than it would be full of surprises, which turned out to be true. There was a lot more dialogue throughout the book then there was in the second, although it still went in depth with description on surroundings, characters, and characters feelings. Since the cover was of Raisa's ring I thought this story would revolve more around her point of view which it did not. The book focused more on Han which I liked since I enjoy reading about him a little more than Raisa. I was happy that more of Hans friends were in this story too, which was a change from the last story where it was mostly him. I thought both Han and Raisa developed a lot as characters, just as they did in the first. I did have some favorite scenes such as the chapter titled "Delphi" which was a scene that took place in a tavern from Hans point of view. There was a tad more romance in this story for Han than there was in the first book, and I have to say I was surprised with who ended up with who. Overall I ended up liking Raisa more than I initially had in the first. She's has an amazing strong will, and compassion for others. Cinda Chima's writing is amazing, I love how I can read the entire book and be excited for the next with absolutely no idea what is going to happen next. She never adds too much fluff, and there are always twists and turns, which makes reading her books all the more interesting.  Favorite Quote: "When she'd left the Fells, she thought of people as being sorted into lots-good and bad, brave and cowardly, virtuous and evil. Now she realized that there were bits of both in most people-and which elements prevailed often depended on circumstances."



The Gray Wolf Throne was a lot different than the other two books in this series. For starters Raisa was mole of the staring character which considering this book focused more on her getting to the throne was understandable. Usually Cinda Williams Chima has about the same amount of back and forth between Han and Raisa, Raisa's point of view overtook most of the chapters. There seemed to be a lot less conflict also in this story as well. Since the book was more centered around court life, there wasn't as much action going on even though there was still some. The romance is little and far between in this story which made sense for the story line but there was still some. I was sad that many of the prominent characters in both The Demon King and The Exiled Queen were put more to the side, such as Amon, Dancer, and the Gray Wolves members. There was an introduction to many new characters, as well as characters that in other books were mentioned merely in passing or only a few times. Overall I can still say that the Seven Realms series still has me captivated with every page."Favorite Quote: "That you have control of this princess now? I am not game piece or a strategic castle you are try to breach."That's where you're wrong, Han thought. Nightwalker thinks every girlie is a castle to be breached. Best to keep your draw-bridge up."
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...